Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Of Love and War

Of Love and War

The war may be over, but devastating secrets are about to come to light…

Of Love and War is a compelling tale of love, guilt and retribution in the aftermath of the Great War from masterful writer, Paul Doherty. Perfect for fans of Pat Barker and Sebastian Barry.


‘A powerful and poignant novel with echoes of Birdsong and Gallipoli, [Paul Doherty’s] exuberant story of love, guilt and retribution vividly captures the courage and tragedy of the Great War’s survivors as the face an uncertain future’ – Newcastle Evening Chronicle

In 1921, Lieutenant Henry Gilpin is scouring the country seeking out those who, perhaps, did not do their best for king and country in the Great War. In the mining town of Crouden, Jack Aylward’s name is on the top of his list. Many men never returned to Crouden from the mud of Northern France; the survivors are tragically altered. Gilpin may exorcise their ghosts, but he brings new terrors with his justice. Kitty Aylward watches in horror as he tears apart the lives of people she has loved and respected. After a wonderful childhood with her constant companions, Billy and Jack, Kitty had finally married Billy but before he left to fight Billy asked for one strange promise: if he should die, she must marry his closest friend. When her husband was killed kept her oath, but now she slowly realises that Gilpin could hold a terrible secret concerning Jack, and Billy’s death.

What readers are saying about Paul Doherty:
‘A tremendous and absorbing read’
The sounds and smells of the period seem to waft from the pages of [Paul Doherty’s] books’
Five stars
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Historical Fiction

On Sale: 11th July 2013

Price: £5.49

ISBN-13: 9780755398355

Reviews

Paul Doherty has a lively sense of history
New Statesman
Doherty's scholarly historical knowledge lays a firm foundation for his ingenious plots, and adds greatly to the enjoyment of the novel
Yorkshire Evening Post
Paul Doherty weaves an intricate story with clues littered among the pages
Historical Novels Review
An engrossing and informative read
Publishers Weekly
Praise for Paul Doherty: A powerful and poignant novel with echoes of Birdsong and Gallipoli, [Paul Doherty's] exuberant story of love, guilt and retribution vivdly captures the courage and tragedy of the Great War's survivors as the face an uncertain future
Newcastle Evening Chronicle