We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

1455, and as war approaches, each must choose their allegiance…

Master historian Paul Doherty brings to life the brutal world of London in 1455 as he tells the epic story of the advent of the Wars of the Roses. Perfect for fans of C.J. Sansom and Susanna Gregory.


‘Deliciously suspenseful, gorgeously written and atmospheric’ –Historical Novels Review

England, 1455: a kingdom on the brink of civil war.
The Red Rose: King Henry of Lancaster’s days are numbered. Deemed unfit for rule, even by his own mother, he surely cannot last on the throne for long. Simon Roseblood – London lord, taverner and alderman – is one of few loyal servants left to fight his cause.

The White Rose: Ruthless Richard of York has his eye firmly set on the crown – and plenty of powerful allies who will do anything to help him win it. Henchman Amadeus Sevigny makes no bones about enforcing his own authority and asserting law and order at York’s command.
When Roseblood is summoned by Sevigny to stand trial for a crime he knows he didn’t commit, their paths cross in ways that alter them both for ever. And as the Wars of the Roses looms, an even greater foe is poised to rock the foundations of England, and wreak horror in a hotbed of political unrest.

What readers are saying about Roseblood:
‘Paul Doherty is a synonym for quality and entertainment
‘A compelling tale of historical fiction that exudes accuracy and detail
‘The book is as entertaining as it is fascinating [and] satisfying as intricate plots and plans are revealed. The author takes the reader deep into this world of squalor and colour, stench and gore, death and deception, introducing characters whose strengths and weaknesses keep the tale alive and compelling

Reviews

Teems with colour, energy and spills
Time Out
Praise for Paul Doherty: Deliciously suspenseful, gorgeously written and atmospheric
Historical Novels Review
Supremely evocative, scrupulously researched
Publishers Weekly
The maestro of medieval mystery... As with all Doherty's historical whodunnits, it is packed with salty dialogue, the smells and superstitions [of the era], not to mention the political intrigues
Books Magazine
The best of its kind since the death of Ellis Peters
Time Out
Paul Doherty has a lively sense of history... evocative and lyrical descriptions
New Statesman
As always the author invokes the medieval period in all its muck as well as glory, filling the pages with pungent smells and description. The author brings years of research to his writing; his mastery of the period as well as a disciplined writing schedule have led to a rapidly increasing body of work and a growing reputation
Mystery News