We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

An attempt on the King’s life draws Hugh Corbett into a deadly investigation…

In Satan’s Fire, the ninth Hugh Corbett mystery from Paul Doherty, strange fires and gruesome murders test the sleuth’s investigative ingenuity to the full. Perfect for fans of Ellis Peters and Robin Hobb.


1303 and the Old Man of the Mountain remembers back to when he nearly killed Edward I thirty years before. He now decides to release an imprisoned leper knight to avenge old grievances and take the King’s life. A few months later, two nuns are returning to their monastery in York, where they are confronted by the horrific sight of a man hungrily being consumed by fire, the sickly smell of burning flesh lingering in the air. News of the grisly death greets Edward as he arrives in York for secret negotiations with the leaders of the military Templar Order. His unease deepens when an attempt is made on his life. When the assassin, wearing Templar livery, is found dead – having been engulfed by a mysterious fire – Edward immediately turns to his Keeper of the Secret Seal, Hugh Corbett, to investigate.

What readers are saying about Paul Doherty:
Good plots, clever twists and mostly impossible to work out
‘Paul Doherty’s depictions of medieval England are truly outstanding
‘Another brilliant story in the excellent Hugh Corbett series by a superb historical author’

Reviews

Praise for Paul Doherty: The maestro of medieval mystery... As with all Doherty's historical whodunnits, it is packed with salty dialogue, the smells and superstitions of the 14th century, not to mention the political intrigues
Books Magazine
Doherty's deep understanding of the period and the nitty-gritty of historical detail are to the fore without intruding on the rhythm of the plot. Superb entertainment
Historical Novels Review
Paul Doherty has come up trumps again with this medieval mystery
Newcastle Evening Chronicle
A masterpiece of murder and mystery
Northern Echo
The best of its kind since the death of Ellis Peters
Time Out
Medieval London comes vividly to life
Publishers Weekly
Paul Doherty has a lively sense of history... evocative and lyrical descriptions
New Statesman
Vitality in the cityscape... angst in the mystery; it's Peters minus the herbs but plus a few crates of sack
Oxford Times
As always the author invokes the medieval period in all its muck as well as glory, filling the pages with pungent smells and description. The author brings years of research to his writing; his mastery of the period as well as a disciplined writing schedule have led to a rapidly increasing body of work and a growing reputation
Mystery News