We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Some people will stop at nothing, not even murder, to keep their secrets hidden…

Paul Doherty writes a spellbinding mystery in Spy in Chancery, the third novel to feature his much-loved medieval sleuth, Hugh Corbett. Perfect for fans of Ellis Peters and Robin Hobb.


Edward I of England and Philip IV of France are at war. Philip, by devious means, has managed to seize control of the English duchy of Aquitaine in France, and is now determined to crush Edward. King Edward suspects that his enemy is being aided by a spy in the English court and commissions his chancery clerk, Hugh Corbett, to trace and, if possible, destroy the traitor. Corbett’s mission brings him into danger on both land and at sea, and takes him to Paris, and its dangerous underworld, and then to hostile Wales. Unwillingly he is drawn into the murky undercurrents of international politics in the last decade of the thirteenth century. And the spy will stop at nothing, not even murder, to keep his identity secret.

What readers are saying about Spy in Chancery:
‘Paul Doherty has the happy knack of making anything he writes about come to life for the reader… The sights and sounds of medieval England seem vividly real in this entertaining novel
‘A dark and engaging jaunt through a strange, vividly realised, and fey world. Fantastic!
Believable characters and wonderful medieval setting makes them all a very entertaining read’

Reviews

Praise for Paul Doherty: The maestro of medieval mystery... As with all Doherty's historical whodunnits, it is packed with salty dialogue, the smells and superstitions of the 14th century, not to mention the political intrigues
Books Magazine
Doherty's deep understanding of the period and the nitty-gritty of historical detail are to the fore without intruding on the rhythm of the plot. Superb entertainment
Historical Novels Review
Paul Doherty has come up trumps again with this medieval mystery
Newcastle Evening Chronicle
A masterpiece of murder and mystery
Northern Echo
The best of its kind since the death of Ellis Peters
Time Out
Medieval London comes vividly to life
Publishers Weekly
Paul Doherty has a lively sense of history... evocative and lyrical descriptions
New Statesman
Vitality in the cityscape... angst in the mystery; it's Peters minus the herbs but plus a few crates of sack
Oxford Times
As always the author invokes the medieval period in all its muck as well as glory, filling the pages with pungent smells and description. The author brings years of research to his writing; his mastery of the period as well as a disciplined writing schedule have led to a rapidly increasing body of work and a growing reputation
Mystery News