We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

A double murder and a robbery threaten the tentative peace of Ancient Egypt…

The third mystery to feature Paul Doherty’s engaging Judge Amerotke, The Anubis Slayings is a thrilling novel of murder, intrigue and sleuthing. Perfect for fans of Christian Jacqs and Wilbur Smith.


‘Doherty evokes atmospherically the sounds, smells and texture of ancient Egypt. But he does not simply rely on an apparently encyclopaedic familiarity with life along the Nile; he also creates a fiendish locked-room mystery and a solution as clever as the puzzle’ – Scotsman

Hatusu, the remarkable young widow of Pharaoh Tuthmosis II, has forced Egyptian society to acknowledge her as Pharaoh, and her success in battle is spreading Egypt’s glory well beyond its frontiers. In the Temple of Anubis, negotiations are taking place between Hatusu and the defeated King Tushratta of Mitanni for a peace treaty that will seal her greatest victory. But in one night, two hideous murders in the temple and the theft of the Glory of Anubis threaten the tentative truce. The respected Judge Amerotke must find the truth or Egypt’s fragile peace could be destroyed for ever.

What readers are saying about The Anubis Slayings:
‘I couldn’t put this book down, it was fantastic
‘He [paints] a vivid and colourful setting for the events of the book’
‘Paul Doherty always manages to gives us thrillers that keep us turning the pages

Reviews

Praise for Paul Doherty: Doherty evokes atmospherically the sounds, smells and texture of ancient Egypt. But he does not simply rely on an apparently encyclopedic familiarity with life along the Nile; he also creates a fiendish locked-room mystery and a solution as clever as the puzzle
Scotsman
A gripping, engaging and highly enjoyable read... Highly recommended
Sherlock Holmes Magazine
The period detail is fascinating, but not tediously overdone. Doherty catches atmosphere as well... And Judge Amerotke is an engaging, distinctive sleuth
Glasgow Herald
As ever, Doherty dazzles with his knowledge an intimate feel for ancient Egypt
Time Out
All the glamour and glory of Ancient Egypt is brought breathtakingly back to life in this whodunit from the Land of the Pharaohs
Northern Echo
Doherty excels at historical detail, bringing ancient Egypt to life in his descriptions of daily life and characters drawn from every caste
Publishers Weekly
Paul Doherty weaves an intricate story with clues littered among the pages
Historical Novels Review
Paul Doherty has a lively sense of history
New Statesman