We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

As Egypt is thrown into disarray, only one man can solve the mysteries…

Judge Amerotke returns in Paul Doherty’s fifth Ancient Egyptian mystery featuring the enigmatic sleuth. Perfect for fans of Lauren Haney and Wilbur Smith.


‘Paul Doherty weaves an intricate story with clues littered among the pages’ – Historical Novels Review

The location of Rahimere’s tomb, somewhere deep in the desert, has long been kept a closely guarded secret. But now, the Sebaus – a sect taking its name from demons – has plundered and pillaged the sepulchre for its most powerful treasure. The fiery Pharaoh Queen Hatusu must fight to protect the tombs of her kin and tighten her grip on the collar of Egypt. Then Egypt’s great military hero, General Suten, is bitten to death by a swarm of venomous vipers, it appears events have spiralled out of her control.
Meanwhile, a dark shadow lies across the peaceful Temple of Isis; four of the temple handmaids have vanished without trace. Will Lord Amerotke, Pharaoh’s Chief Judge, be able to unravel the mysteries before further violence erupts? Or will he find that the perpetrators are in league with forces beyond his jurisdiction.

What readers are saying about The Assassins of Isis:
‘These books on Egypt just get better and better
‘I was taken into the story, unable to put the book down and finished it after a few days’
Entertaining and also gives a wonderful insight into the lives of the Ancient Egyptians’

Reviews

Paul Doherty weaves an intricate story with clues littered among the pages
Historical Novels Review
The period detail is fascinating, but not tediously overdone. Doherty catches atmosphere as well... And Judge Amerotke is an engaging, distinctive sleuth
Glasgow Herald
As ever, Doherty dazzles with his knowledge an intimate feel for ancient Egypt
Time Out
Doherty evokes atmospherically the sounds, smells and texture of ancient Egypt
Scotsman
All the glamour and glory of Ancient Egypt is brought breathtakingly back to life in this whodunit from the Land of the Pharaohs
Northern Echo
Doherty excels at historical detail, bringing ancient Egypt to life in his descriptions of daily life and characters drawn from every caste
Publishers Weekly
Paul Doherty has a lively sense of history
New Statesman