We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

What do you do when everyone is a suspect?

Paul Doherty writes a medieval mystery shrouded in secrets in The Book of Shadows, the fourth novel to feature physician and sleuth Kathryn Swinbrooke. Perfect for fans of Susanna Gregory and Michael Jecks.


The year is 1471. Shortly after the murderous takeover of the throne by Edward IV and Elizabeth Woodville, blackmailers thrive by challenging detractors of the new king. The ugliest threat to the people of Canterbury is the magus Tenebrae, who controls the Book of Shadows – a grimoire of spells and magic containing secrets about the dead and the living. When Tenebrae is murdered, physician and apothecary Kathryn Swinbrooke is summoned to solve the crime, or else risk the transfer of her love, Colum Murtagh, far away to London. However, the secrets stretch all the way to the King and Queen themselves, and everyone is a suspect – especially Tenebrae’s last visitors, a nervous group of goldsmiths from London. Tenebrae is dead but the Book of Shadows still exerts his power, and its new owners will die for it. As the suspects fall victim, one by one, to violent deaths, Swinbrooke most solve the mystery before the Book of Shadows closes on them all.

What readers are saying about The Book of Shadows:
‘The sense of menace, depth of characterization and interesting cast of characters make this book, and the series, a brilliant read’
Twists and turns throughout [with] interesting, colourful characters
Excellent story, couldn’t put it down. Kept me guessing right to the end’

Reviews

Praise for Paul Doherty: The maestro of medieval mystery... As with all Doherty's historical whodunnits, it is packed with salty dialogue, the smells and superstitions [of the era], not to mention the political intrigues
Books Magazine
Doherty's deep understanding of the period and the nitty-gritty of historical detail are to the fore without intruding on the rhythm of the plot. Superb entertainment
Historical Novels Review
Paul Doherty has come up trumps again with this medieval mystery
Newcastle Evening Chronicle
A masterpiece of murder and mystery
Northern Echo
The best of its kind since the death of Ellis Peters
Time Out
An engrossing and informative read
Publishers Weekly
Paul Doherty has a lively sense of history... evocative and lyrical descriptions
New Statesman
As always the author invokes the medieval period in all its muck as well as glory, filling the pages with pungent smells and description. The author brings years of research to his writing; his mastery of the period as well as a disciplined writing schedule have led to a rapidly increasing body of work and a growing reputation
Mystery News
For those who are keen enthusiasts of medieval murder stories the name Paul Doherty will need no introduction... He writes with enthusiasm about an era he knows well
SHOTS Magazine