We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

A campaign of murder, as Alexander nears his greatest challenge…

Paul Doherty writes the third instalment featuring Alexander the Great and Telamon in The Gates of Hell, a gripping mystery of murder and adventure. Perfect for fans of Gary Corby and Margaret Doody.


‘The combination of legendary historical figures and an old-fashioned murder mystery proves irresistible in Paul Doherty’s vivid new interpretation of the exploits of Alexander the Great’ – Yorkshire Evening Post

It is 334 BC, and Alexander and his troops have crossed into Asia. Marching south he has conquered all in his path, but he and his enemies all know that the great prize is the city of Halicarnassus, strategically important and with fortifications to make any attacker despair. Alexander’s court is set up close to the city, and his physician and old friend Telamon is there.

Even as Alexander prepares for one of the most dramatic confrontations in the ancient world, a series of brutal killings begins, proving that the Persians have infiltrated the court. With his lord facing the fight of his life, Telamon must go through ‘the Gates of Hell’ to find the traitors.

What readers are saying about Paul Doherty:
‘With vivid sense imagery and a keen eye for detail, Doherty brings colour and drama
‘Paul Doherty grasps the atmosphere, the spirit of the times, and the aura of royal intrigue of 334 BC’
Five stars

Reviews

Praise for Paul Doherty: Paul Doherty has created a vivid, credible picture of life in the Persian and Macedonian courts on the eve of Alexander's conquests
The Times
The combination of legendary historical figures and an old-fashioned murder mystery proves irresistible in Paul Doherty's vivid new interpretation of the exploits of Alexander the Great
Yorkshire Evening Post
[Paul Doherty's] Alexander is a loyal friend and likeable rogue intent on gambling everything to achieve his dreams of world conquest
Times Literary Supplement
Doherty, a true master of the historical mystery, provides another superbly crafted whodunit that will keep readers guessing until the stunning climax
Booklist
If you want to know whodunnit in ancient times, Doherty is your man
Good Book Guide