We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Can the mysteries of Ancient Greece, and Alexander himself, be unravelled?

Alexander the Great faces the challenge of the Persian Centaur in The Godless Man, the second novel in Paul Doherty’s magnificent series. Perfect for fans of Gary Corby and Margaret Doody.


‘[Paul Doherty’s] Alexander is a loyal friend and likeable rogue intent on gambling everything to achieve his dreams of world conquest’ – Times Literary Supplement

Alexander has smashed the armies of the great king Darius III and is roaming the Western Persian Empire like a hungry predator, living up to his nickname of ‘the Wolf of Macedon’. Arriving in the great city of Ephesus in 334 BC, his campaign is threatened by a series of violent murders carried out by a high-ranking Persian spy known as ‘the Centaur’. Worse, one of Alexander’s old tutors, Leonidas, is found face down in a pond at the House of Medusa.

Alexander’s friend and physician, the level-headed Telamon, must set about unravelling this mass of blood-strewn mysteries. As always one of the biggest obstacles is Alexander himself, a consummate actor whose lust for power and glory matches the carnage and intrigue that dog his footsteps like the Furies themselves.

What readers are saying about Paul Doherty:
‘Paul Doherty has the rare talent of making you feel as though you are there, be it medieval England, or battling with Alexander. The sounds and smells of the period seem to waft from the pages of his books
‘[You] lose yourself in the story’
Five stars

Reviews

Praise for Paul Doherty: Paul Doherty has created a vivid, credible picture of life in the Persian and Macedonian courts on the eve of Alexander's conquests
The Times
The combination of legendary historical figures and an old-fashioned murder mystery proves irresistible in Paul Doherty's vivid new interpretation of the exploits of Alexander the Great
Yorkshire Evening Post
Doherty, a true master of the historical mystery, provides another superbly crafted whodunit that will keep readers guessing until the stunning climax
Booklist
If you want to know whodunnit in ancient times, Doherty is your man
Good Book Guide
[Paul Doherty's] Alexander is a loyal friend and likeable rogue intent on gambling everything to achieve his dreams of world conquest
Times Literary Supplement