We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

As Alexander the Great sits with his troops poised to attack, his guides are murdered. Can he uncover the spies in time?

The House of Death is the first mystery in the magnificent Ancient Greece series featuring Alexander the Great and his physician Telamon, by master historian Paul Doherty. Perfect for fans of Gary Corby and Margaret Doody.


‘Paul Doherty has created a vivid, credible picture of life in the Persian and Macedonian courts on the eve of Alexander’s conquests’ – The Times

It is 334 BC and the young Alexander sits with his troops by the Hellespont, poised to attack the empire of the great King Darius III. To win the approval of the gods for his enterprise he makes many offerings, yet the smoke does not rise, the sacrificial animals are flawed. Worse, his guides are being brutally murdered, Persian spies are in the camp, and Alexander’s generals have their own secrets. Into this turmoil comes Telamon, a physician and boyhood friend of Alexander. As the climax builds and Alexander throws off his nervous fears, winning a brilliant and bloody triumph over the Persians, Telamon must at last succeed in unmasking their enemies…

What readers are saying about The House of Death:
A book to fall in love with
‘Paul Doherty at his very best! Very well researched – a joy to read
‘Found myself totally engrossed in the book; I could not put it down till I got to the very last page’

Reviews

Praise for Paul Doherty: Paul Doherty has created a vivid, credible picture of life in the Persian and Macedonian courts on the eve of Alexander's conquests
The Times
The combination of legendary historical figures and an old-fashioned murder mystery proves irresistible in Paul Doherty's vivid new interpretation of the exploits of Alexander the Great
Yorkshire Evening Post
Doherty, a true master of the historical mystery, provides another superbly crafted whodunit that will keep readers guessing until the stunning climax
Booklist
[Paul Doherty's] Alexander is a loyal friend and likeable rogue intent on gambling everything to achieve his dreams of world conquest
Times Literary Supplement
An engrossing and informative read
Publishers Weekly
Paul Doherty weaves an intricate story with clues littered among the pages
Historical Novels Review
Paul Doherty has a lively sense of history
New Statesman
A masterpiece of murder and mystery
Northern Echo