We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

A powerful and passionate story of forbidden love set in Medieval England…

Immersed in the colours and drama of medieval life, Paul Doherty’s richly evocative novel, The Love Knot, combines fact and fiction to tell one of history’s greatest but most secret love affairs. Perfect for fans of Philippa Gregory and Jean Plaidy.


Spring, 1297. Recently widowed Joanna of Acre, loving daughter of Edward I, is pleased at her father’s unexpected visit. But Edward has heard a rumour of an inappropriate friendship between Joanna, still officially in widow’s weeds, and penniless commoner Ralph Monthermer. Edward, believing he has proof of a clandestine affair, immures Joanna in a nunnery and imprisons Ralph within Bristol Castle. Henry Trokelowe, Edward’s clerk, stops him killing Ralph, who is allowed to live while the cold, almost passionless Henry investigates. Ralph and Joanna’s only chance of survival now lies in Henry’s hands, but how can a confirmed bachelor even begin to understand the all-consuming passion binding them?

What readers are saying about Paul Doherty:
The sounds and smells of the period seem to waft from the pages of [Paul Doherty’s] books’
Fascinating
Five stars

Reviews

Praise for Paul Doherty: The maestro of medieval mystery... As with all Doherty's historical whodunnits, it is packed with salty dialogue, the smells and superstitions [of the era], not to mention the political intrigues
Books Magazine
Doherty's deep understanding of the period and the nitty-gritty of historical detail are to the fore without intruding on the rhythm of the plot. Superb entertainment
Historical Novels Review
Paul Doherty has come up trumps again with this medieval mystery
Newcastle Evening Chronicle
Paul Doherty has a lively sense of history... evocative and lyrical descriptions
New Statesman
As always the author invokes the medieval period in all its muck as well as glory, filling the pages with pungent smells and description. The author brings years of research to his writing; his mastery of the period as well as a disciplined writing schedule have led to a rapidly increasing body of work and a growing reputation
Mystery News
Doherty's scholarly historical knowledge lays a firm foundation for his ingenious plots, and adds greatly to the enjoyment of the novel
Yorkshire Evening Post