We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

The Pharaoh is murdered… who can the city of Thebes trust to uncover the truth?

The Mask of Ra, the first mystery in Paul Doherty’s intriguing series set in Ancient Egypt, introduces readers to his enigmatic sleuth, Amerotke, for the first time. Perfect for fans of Brad Geagley and Wilbur Smith.


‘The historical mystery genre is still thriving and Paul Doherty’s The Mask of Ra is the best of its kind since the death of Ellis Peters. As ever, Doherty dazzles with his knowledge and intimate feel for ancient Egypt’ – Time Out

His great battles against the sea raiders in the Nile Delta have left Pharaoh Tuthmosis II frail, but he finds solace in victory and in the welcome he is sure to receive on his return to Thebes. Across the river from Thebes, however, there are those who do not relish his homecoming, and a group of assassins has taken a witch to pollute the Pharaoh’s unfinished tomb.
Reunited with his wife, Hatusu, and his people, Tuthmosis stands before the statue of Amun-Ra with the roar of the crowd and the fanfare of trumpets ringing in his ears. But within an hour he is dead and the people of Thebes cannot forget the omen of wounded doves flying overhead. Rumours run rife, speculation sweeps the royal city and Hatusu vows to uncover the truth. With the aid of Amerotke, a respected judge of Thebes, she embarks on a path destined to reveal the great secrets of Egypt.

What readers are saying about The Mask of Ra:
‘This is the best book I have ever read
A classic whodunit, it nevertheless manages to spring a few surprises on the way, and I certainly didn’t manage to guess who the culprit was
‘Mr. Doherty takes time to establish the site and atmospheric setting of his story…I barged through the book in one night

Reviews

Praise for Paul Doherty: The historical mystery genre is still thriving and Paul Doherty's The Mask of Ra is the best of its kind since the death of Ellis Peters. As ever, Doherty dazzles with his knowledge and intimate feel for ancient Egypt
Time Out
Doherty excels at historical detail, bringing ancient Egypt to life in his descriptions of daily life and characters drawn from every caste. This novel launches a series - and that's good news
Publishers Weekly
Paul Doherty has a lively sense of history
New Statesman
Doherty evokes atmospherically the sounds, smells and texture of ancient Egypt
Scotsman
All the glamour and glory of Ancient Egypt is brought breathtakingly back to life in this whodunit from the Land of the Pharaohs
Northern Echo
Paul Doherty weaves an intricate story with clues littered among the pages
Historical Novels Review