Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The Merchant of Death (Kathryn Swinbrooke Mysteries, Book 3)

The Merchant of Death (Kathryn Swinbrooke Mysteries, Book 3)

A disturbing murder unearths more questions than answers…

Kathryn Swinbrooke returns for the third time in The Merchant of Death, Paul Doherty’s gripping medieval mystery. Perfect for fans of Ellis Peters and Michael Jecks.


It is nearly Christmas, and snowstorms have blanketed the city of 15th-century Canterbury. Physician Kathryn Swinbrooke and her cook Thomasina are busily preparing for the holiday, when terrible news arrives: The painter Richard Blunt has confessed to killing his young wife, along with two men who were dallying with her. Kathryn is disturbed by Blunt’s serene demeanour, but before she can articulate her suspicions, another death captures her attention. A tax collector, Sir Reginald Erpingham, has been found dead in his room at the Wicker Man tavern, and the King’s monies have been stolen. Kathryn quickly determines that the collector was murdered, perhaps by poison, and begins questioning the guests at the tavern. Meanwhile, there are patients to be cared for, a practice to build, and a household to maintain – but Kathryn must put aside these pleasant duties if she is to find the link between Richard Blunt and the strange events at the Wicker Man tavern.

What readers are saying about The Merchant of Death:
Exciting from start to finish with so many twists and turns
A great romp through medieval England’
‘A real page turner
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Historical Fiction

On Sale: 6th June 2013

Price: £4.99

ISBN-13: 9780755395637

Reviews

Doherty's deep understanding of the period and the nitty-gritty of historical detail are to the fore without intruding on the rhythm of the plot. Superb entertainment
Historical Novels Review
As always the author invokes the medieval period in all its muck as well as glory, filling the pages with pungent smells and description. The author brings years of research to his writing; his mastery of the period as well as a disciplined writing schedule have led to a rapidly increasing body of work and a growing reputation
Mystery News
For those who are keen enthusiasts of medieval murder stories the name Paul Doherty will need no introduction... He writes with enthusiasm about an era he knows well
SHOTS Magazine
Paul Doherty has a lively sense of history... evocative and lyrical descriptions
New Statesman
A masterpiece of murder and mystery
Northern Echo
Paul Doherty has come up trumps again with this medieval mystery
Newcastle Evening Chronicle
Praise for Paul Doherty: The maestro of medieval mystery... As with all Doherty's historical whodunnits, it is packed with salty dialogue, the smells and superstitions [of the era], not to mention the political intrigues
Books Magazine
The best of its kind since the death of Ellis Peters
Time Out
An engrossing and informative read
Publishers Weekly