We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

A legendary explorer. A series of shocking murders. A secret society.

Paul Doherty writes a dramatic historical novel about Marco Polo’s life in 13th century China in The Plague Lord. Perfect for fans of Ellis Peters and C.J. Sansom.


‘An enthralling historical detective novel which immerses the reader in an unknown and distant society far removed from medieval western civilisation, and brings to life some of the period’s greatest characters. The mysterious East has never seemed either so deadly or so alien’ – Brentwood Gazette

Thirteenth-century China. In the streets of Cambaluc, seat of the great Mongol Lord, Kublai Khan, sinister events are unfolding. Members of the Guild of Pourers, the city cleaners, are being picked off one by one in a series of gut-wrenching murders. What is the link between these deaths and the reappearance of the Water Lily sect, a secret society dedicated to service of the Plague Lord, Wen Yi Kwei? With rumours of demonic forces at work, Kublai Khan summons his trusted advisor and friend, the Venetian Marco Polo, to discover the truth. But will he be able to stem the tide of evil before it’s too late? And will the Water Lily sect succeed in unleashing the full fury of Wen Yi Kwei, the great baron of Hell…?

What readers are saying about Paul Doherty:
‘I picked it up and couldn’t put it down
The sounds and smells of the period seem to waft from the pages of [Paul Doherty’s] books’
Five stars

Reviews

Praise for Paul Doherty: An enthralling historical detective novel which immerses the reader in an unknown and distant society far removed from medieval western civilisation, and brings to life some of the period's greatest characters. The mysterious East has never seemed either so deadly or so alien
Brentwood Gazette
Extensive and penetrating research coupled with a strong plot and bold characterisation. Loads of adventure and a dazzling evocation of the past
Herald Sun, Melbourne
Another gory, intriguing ancient murder mystery
Oxford Times
Doherty's tale is rich in the cadences of treachery... An opulent banquet to satisfy the most murderous appetite
Northern Echo
The Plague Lord... entertains with its brilliant depiction of the radiant imperial court - and the creativity with which Doherty imagines the origins of medieval Europe's greatest tragedy
Historical Novels Review
The master of historical whodunit
Booklist
If you want to know whodunnit in ancient times, Doherty is your man
Good Book Guide
An engrossing and informative read
Publishers Weekly
Paul Doherty has a lively sense of history
New Statesman
Doherty's scholarly historical knowledge lays a firm foundation for his ingenious plots, and adds greatly to the enjoyment of the novel
Yorkshire Evening Post