We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

ebook / ISBN-13: 9780755350209

Price: £9.99

ON SALE: 30th October 2012

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Historical Fiction

Select a format:

Paperback
Who can uncover the elusive identity of the Poison Maiden?

The Poison Maiden is Paul Doherty’s second compulsive novel set during the turbulent reign of Edward II, featuring Mathilde of Westminster.
Perfect for fans of Ellis Peters and Robin Hobb.

It’s 1308 and England hovers on the brink of civil war. Edward II, his wife Isabella and the royal favourite Peter Gaveston, Earl of Cornwall, have been forced to retreat to the King’s folly. Just an arrowshot away lay the Great Lords and Philip IV of France, who are demanding that the Earl of Cornwall be charged with high treason.

Edward is trapped, and worse, he has learnt that Philip has the ‘Poison Maiden’ on his side, a formidable spy who did untold damage during his father’s reign. As Edward tries in vain to unmask the identity of the spy, Mathilde, handmaiden to the Queen, also attempts to identify the source of this threat.
Soon the crisis spills over into violence. The Lords attempt to take Gaveston by force and the King and his Court, including Mathilde, are forced to flee. As the enemy closes in, Mathilde finds herself embroiled in a life and death struggle for the English crown.

What readers are saying about The Poison Maiden:
‘This is medieval mystery at its very best
‘A fascinating and illuminating page-turner of a book’
‘This is a really good adventure; an atmospheric read, a great story, and lots to think on as you close the last page’

Reviews

Praise for Paul Doherty: The master of historical whodunit
Booklist
An engrossing and informative read
Publishers Weekly
Paul Doherty weaves an intricate story with clues littered among the pages
Historical Novels Review
Paul Doherty has a lively sense of history
New Statesman
A masterpiece of murder and mystery
Northern Echo