We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Judge Amerotke to pits his wits against a deadly enemy…

Paul Doherty delves once again into the world of Ancient Egypt in The Poisoner of Ptah – a gripping murder mystery featuring his ever-popular sleuth, Judge Amerotke. Perfect for fans of Christian Jacqs and Wilbur Smith.


‘This is another fine performance’ – Publishers Weekly

Pharaoh-Queen Hatusu’s Egypt is in a new and glorious ascendancy. But for all its prosperity and power it is not without its weaknesses – or enemies. At a peace treaty signing between Egypt and Libya in Thebes, three of Egypt’s leading scribes die violently on the Temple forecourt, the victims of poisoning. And when a prosperous merchant and his wife are found drowned rumours sweep the imperial city. The Poisoner of Ptah has returned. Pharaoh Hatusu orders Amerotke, Chief Judge of the Halls of Two Truths, to find the perpetrator of these abominations. His hunt for the Poisoner uncovers a seething mass of suspicion and danger. Now Amerotke must pit his wits against a cunning opponent intent on vengeance and survive the twilight world of Thebes where life can be so rich and yet death so swift and brutal…

What readers are saying about The Poisoner of Ptah:
‘A dazzling evocation of the past and a gripping mystery
‘Paul Doherty has the rare talent of making you feel as though you are there, be it Ancient Egypt, medieval England, or battling with Alexander. The sounds and smells of the period seem to waft from the pages of his books’
Spellbinding

Reviews

Praise for Paul Doherty: This is another fine performance
Publishers Weekly
The period detail is fascinating, but not tediously overdone. Doherty catches atmosphere as well... And Judge Amerotke is an engaging, distinctive sleuth
Glasgow Herald
As ever, Doherty dazzles with his knowledge an intimate feel for ancient Egypt
Time Out
Doherty evokes atmospherically the sounds, smells and texture of ancient Egypt
Scotsman
All the glamour and glory of Ancient Egypt is brought breathtakingly back to life in this whodunit from the Land of the Pharaohs
Northern Echo
Paul Doherty weaves an intricate story with clues littered among the pages
Historical Novels Review
Paul Doherty has a lively sense of history
New Statesman