We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Secrets, lies and espionage abound in Hugh Corbett’s medieval England…

The Prince of Darkness is the fifth dazzling novel in the richly authentic Hugh Corbett series from Paul Doherty. Perfect for fans of Susanna Gregory and Robin Hobb.


It is 1301 and a fragile peace exists between Edward of England and Philip IV of France. In the fetid alleys and slums of London and Paris it is a different matter. Here the secret agents of both countries still fight their own, silent, deadly battles. The Prince of Wales wallows in luxury under the sinister influence of his favourite, Gaveston, who has secret political ambitions to dominate the young prince and the English crown. These scandals are threatened with exposure when Lady Belmont, the prince’s former mistress, is found dead, her neck broken, at the foot of a nunnery’s steps. Was it suicide? An accident? Or malicious murder? Edward turns to his master spy, Hugh Corbett, to solve the mystery. In doing so, Corbett must face the deadly rivalry of his French counterpart, the murderous rage of Gaveston and the silent threats of assassins. He must also contend with the lies and silken deceits of his own master.

What readers are saying about The Prince of Darkness:
‘Paul Doherty gives a full flavour of life in the medieval era, interweaving historical fact and fiction with knowledgeable expertise. A thoroughly enjoyable intrigue’
‘250 pages of unputdownable storytelling. Excellent
Another gem from Paul Doherty’

Reviews

Praise for Paul Doherty: The maestro of medieval mystery... As with all Doherty's historical whodunnits, it is packed with salty dialogue, the smells and superstitions of the 14th century, not to mention the political intrigues
Books Magazine
Doherty's deep understanding of the period and the nitty-gritty of historical detail are to the fore without intruding on the rhythm of the plot. Superb entertainment
Historical Novels Review
Paul Doherty has come up trumps again with this medieval mystery
Newcastle Evening Chronicle
A masterpiece of murder and mystery
Northern Echo
The best of its kind since the death of Ellis Peters
Time Out
Medieval London comes vividly to life
Publishers Weekly
Paul Doherty has a lively sense of history... evocative and lyrical descriptions
New Statesman
Vitality in the cityscape... angst in the mystery; it's Peters minus the herbs but plus a few crates of sack
Oxford Times
As always the author invokes the medieval period in all its muck as well as glory, filling the pages with pungent smells and description. The author brings years of research to his writing; his mastery of the period as well as a disciplined writing schedule have led to a rapidly increasing body of work and a growing reputation
Mystery News