We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

ebook / ISBN-13: 9780755350353

Price: £8.99

ON SALE: 30th October 2012

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Historical Fiction

Select a format:

Paperback
The Norfolk coast is besieged by a series of murders – can Hugh Corbett find the killer?

The Song of a Dark Angel is the eighth mystery in Paul Doherty’s medieval series featuring intrepid sleuth Hugh Corbett. Perfect for fans of Robin Hobb and Michael Jecks.


November 1302, and Sir Hugh Corbett, Edward I’s Keeper of the Secret Seal, together with his manservant, Ranulf, and messenger, Maltote, are sent to Mortlake Manor on the Norfolk coast to confront an evil rarely seen before. A man’s headless corpse, its head impaled on a pole, has been found on a beach and the pretty young wife of a local baker has been found hanging from a gallows. The scene is set for more gruesome deaths and Corbett soon realises that the icy wastes of Norfolk, where the eerie song of the Dark Angel wind chills those that live in the small villages along the coast, are just as treacherous as the silken intrigue at the royal court or the violence of London’s fetid alleyways…

What readers are saying about The Song of a Dark Angel:
‘Paul Doherty’s understanding of [the period’s] political, social and religious history brings this medieval masterpiece alive’
‘Paul’s flair for the atmospheric and his skill with the mysterious combine to produce a page turning medieval mystery that I thoroughly enjoyed
Well written, good mystery that keeps you guessing until the end’

Reviews

Praise for Paul Doherty: The maestro of medieval mystery... As with all Doherty's historical whodunnits, it is packed with salty dialogue, the smells and superstitions of the 14th century, not to mention the political intrigues
Books Magazine
Doherty's deep understanding of the period and the nitty-gritty of historical detail are to the fore without intruding on the rhythm of the plot. Superb entertainment
Historical Novels Review
Paul Doherty has come up trumps again with this medieval mystery
Newcastle Evening Chronicle
A masterpiece of murder and mystery
Northern Echo
The best of its kind since the death of Ellis Peters
Time Out
Medieval London comes vividly to life
Publishers Weekly
Paul Doherty has a lively sense of history... evocative and lyrical descriptions
New Statesman
Vitality in the cityscape... angst in the mystery; it's Peters minus the herbs but plus a few crates of sack
Oxford Times
As always the author invokes the medieval period in all its muck as well as glory, filling the pages with pungent smells and description. The author brings years of research to his writing; his mastery of the period as well as a disciplined writing schedule have led to a rapidly increasing body of work and a growing reputation
Mystery News