We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

The dangerous underbelly of Ancient Egypt grows ever more powerful…

The Spies of Sobeck is the seventh novel in Paul Doherty’s acclaimed ancient Egyptian series, featuring Amerotke, Chief Judge in the Hall of Two Truths. Perfect for fans of Brad Geagley and Wilbur Smith.


‘Choked with bloody killings, confrontations, and betrayals, the story is gripping’ – Kirkus Reviews

Amerotke, Chief Judge of the Hall of Two Truths, is once again summoned to the Imperial Palaceo: Tekreth, Guardian of the Door of Sobeck, has fallen to his death from the roof of his stately mansion. According to all evidence, it was an accident but Pharaoh Queen Hatusu is not convinced. Increasingly worried about reports of mysterious disappearances along the Sobeck Road, the imperial highway stretching south, she believes that Tekreth’s death could be part of a far greater problem. Amerotke, aware of the reports from the Sobeck Road, has also heard rumours about the Shemai, a cult devoted to death, based along its borders.
Before Amerotke can start to consider either of these matters though, a gruesome mass murder occurs at the Necropolis. The funeral party for revered scribe, Ptulimis, has been poisoned and Amerotke must immediately investigate the abomination. As Amerotke probes further, he suspects that all these events may be connected and that dangerous forces are at work in Pharaoh Hatusu’s realm. Will Amerotke be able to uncover the truth before Egypt is overrun by its sinister and dangerous underworld?

What readers are saying about Paul Doherty:
‘When reading this book on the underground I got so absorbed that I nearly missed my stop’
A perfect read!
‘[Paul Doherty’s] books set in Egypt are astounding

Reviews

Praise for Paul Doherty: Choked with bloody killings, confrontations, and betrayals, the story is gripping
Kirkus Reviews
The period detail is fascinating, but not tediously overdone. Doherty catches atmosphere as well... And Judge Amerotke is an engaging, distinctive sleuth
Glasgow Herald
As ever, Doherty dazzles with his knowledge an intimate feel for ancient Egypt
Time Out
Doherty evokes atmospherically the sounds, smells and texture of ancient Egypt
Scotsman
All the glamour and glory of Ancient Egypt is brought breathtakingly back to life in this whodunit from the Land of the Pharaohs
Northern Echo
Doherty excels at historical detail, bringing ancient Egypt to life in his descriptions of daily life and characters drawn from every caste
Publishers Weekly
Paul Doherty weaves an intricate story with clues littered among the pages
Historical Novels Review
Paul Doherty has a lively sense of history
New Statesman