Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The Whyte Harte (Matthew Jankyn, Book 1)

The Whyte Harte (Matthew Jankyn, Book 1)

The suspicious death of the Richard II prompts an unground movement known as the White Harte…

The turbulent times of the 15th century are perfectly captured in Paul Doherty’s gripping mystery, The White Harte. Perfect for fans of Ellis Peters and Susanna Gregory.

Jankyn’s narrative relates his own past, a past spent unwillingly under the tutelage of priests and friars in an Augustinian monastery; his rebellious flirtation with the heresy of Lollardism; and finally his becoming a thief, an accused traitor, and yeoman to Bishop Henry Beaufort, illegitimate grandson of ‘The Black Prince’, and half-brother to King Henry V. It is Beaufort who ‘rescues’ Jankyn from Newgate prison to serve as his investigator of the rumours that Richard II is not dead, but alive in Scotland, encouraging the small rebellions under the sign of the White Harte. It is up to Jankyn to discover the truth…

What readers are saying about Paul Doherty:
‘The plot and mystery slowly unfolds with unexpected twists and turns before finally being unravelled. An enthralling tale by Doherty at his best’
‘[You] lose yourself in the story’
Five stars
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Historical Fiction

On Sale: 6th June 2013

Price: £4.99

ISBN-13: 9780755395774

Reviews

Praise for Paul Doherty: The maestro of medieval mystery... As with all Doherty's historical whodunnits, it is packed with salty dialogue, the smells and superstitions [of the era], not to mention the political intrigues
Books Magazine
Doherty's deep understanding of the period and the nitty-gritty of historical detail are to the fore without intruding on the rhythm of the plot. Superb entertainment
Historical Novels Review
Paul Doherty has come up trumps again with this medieval mystery
Newcastle Evening Chronicle
A masterpiece of murder and mystery
Northern Echo
The best of its kind since the death of Ellis Peters
Time Out
An engrossing and informative read
Publishers Weekly
Paul Doherty has a lively sense of history... evocative and lyrical descriptions
New Statesman
As always the author invokes the medieval period in all its muck as well as glory, filling the pages with pungent smells and description. The author brings years of research to his writing; his mastery of the period as well as a disciplined writing schedule have led to a rapidly increasing body of work and a growing reputation
Mystery News
For those who are keen enthusiasts of medieval murder stories the name Paul Doherty will need no introduction... He writes with enthusiasm about an era he knows well
SHOTS Magazine