We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Egypt’s enemies are massing in the North. But could the nation’s deadliest threat lie within?

The Year of the Cobra is the third and final book in Paul Doherty’s Egyptian trilogy. Perfect for fans of Lauren Haney and Wilbur Smith.


Egypt is in danger. The barbarous Hittites are rumoured to be massing their armies. Pharaoh Tutankhamen is seriously ill and the country appears powerless against its enemies. Scheming minister Lord Ay sends Mahu, Overseer of the House of Scribes, to uncover the Hittites’ plan. But what Mahu discovers could be more devastating than any attack…

When the Masked messengers emerge to guide Mahu many unanswered questions reveal themselves; the truth about Pharaoh Akenhaten’s disappearance; the identity of the ‘Watchers’ and secret knowledge about the Aten; the one God and the coming of the Messiah. Mahu knows that Egypt’s future rests on this knowledge, but he also knows that knowledge is power…

What readers are saying about The Year of the Cobra:
‘Very fresh and extremely well researched
‘From page one the reader is hooked… Paul Doherty creates a vivid, colourful and lively picture of the time’
‘It is a mark of the author if he can capture the spirit of the time he is writing about and of course make the characters come alive… Paul Doherty does all of this with ease’

Reviews

Praise for Paul Doherty: Doherty has typically woven a delightfully dark tale around what must have been the most remarkable period of Egyptian history
Historical Novels Review
An opulent banquet to satisfy the most murderous appetite
Northern Echo
As ever, Doherty dazzles with his knowledge an intimate feel for ancient Egypt
Time Out
Doherty evokes atmospherically the sounds, smells and texture of ancient Egypt
Scotsman
Doherty excels at historical detail, bringing ancient Egypt to life in his descriptions of daily life and characters drawn from every caste
Publishers Weekly
Paul Doherty has a lively sense of history
New Statesman
The master of historical whodunit
Booklist