Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The Lost Outlaw (Jack Lark, Book 8)

The Lost Outlaw (Jack Lark, Book 8)

The eighth action-packed Victorian military adventure featuring hero Jack Lark: soldier, leader, imposter. Expect hard fighting, dangerous bandoleros and double-crossing aplenty as Jack arrives in Mexico. A must-read military adventure for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Simon Scarrow.

Dusty deserts, showdowns under the blistering sun, bloodthirsty bandoleros, rough whisky and rougher men. Bullets fly, emotions run high and treachery abounds in The Lost Outlaw. This is classic Jack Lark in a classic western…an exceptionally entertaining historical action adventure’

In the midst of civil war, America stands divided. Jack Lark has faced both armies first hand, but will no longer fight for a cause that isn’t his.

1863, Louisiana. Jack may have left the battlefield behind, but his gun is never far from reach, especially on the long and lonely road to nowhere. Soon, his skill lands him a job, and a new purpose.

Navy Colt in hand, Jack embarks on the dangerous task of escorting a valuable wagon train of cotton down through Texas to Mexico. Working for another man, let alone a man like the volatile Brannigan, isn’t going to be easy. With the cargo under constant attack, and the Deep South’s most infamous outlaws hot on their trail, Jack knows he is living on borrowed time.

And, as they cross the border, Jack soon discovers that the usual rules of war don’t apply. He will have to fight to survive, and this time the battle might prove one he could lose.

Praise for the Jack Lark series:

‘Brilliant’ Bernard Cornwell

‘Enthralling’ The Times

‘You feel and experience all the emotions and the blood, sweat and tears that Jack does… I devoured it in one sitting’ Parmenion Books
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Historical Fiction

On Sale: 25th July 2019

Price: £20.99

ISBN-13: 9781472239105

Reviews

It felt accurate, it felt real, it felt alive... Every line every paragraph and page of the battles had me hooked, riveted to the page, there were times when I was almost as breathless as the exhausted soldiers
Parmenion Books
You feel and experience all the emotions and the blood, sweat and tears that Jack does... I devoured it in one sitting
Parmenion Books
Brilliant
Bernard Cornwell
Impossible to put down... full of action and intrigue that leaves the reader thirsty for more
History… the Interesting Bits
I love a writer who wears his history lightly enough for the story he's telling to blaze across the pages like this. Jack Lark is an unforgettable new hero
Anthony Riches