Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The Lost Outlaw (Jack Lark, Book 8)

The Lost Outlaw (Jack Lark, Book 8)

The eighth action-packed Victorian military adventure featuring hero Jack Lark: soldier, leader, imposter. Expect hard fighting, dangerous bandoleros and double-crossing aplenty as Jack arrives in Mexico. A must-read military adventure for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Simon Scarrow.

‘Nobody writing today depicts the chaos, terror and brutality of war better’ Matthew Harffy

‘Enthralling’ The Times on the Jack Lark series

In the midst of civil war, America stands divided. Jack Lark has faced both armies first hand, but will no longer fight for a cause that isn’t his.

1863, Louisiana. Jack may have left the battlefield behind, but his gun is never far from reach, especially on the long and lonely road to nowhere. Soon, his skill lands him a job, and a new purpose.

Navy Colt in hand, Jack embarks on the dangerous task of escorting a valuable wagon train of cotton down through Texas to Mexico. Working for another man, let alone a man like the volatile Brannigan, isn’t going to be easy. With the cargo under constant attack, and the Deep South’s most infamous outlaws hot on their trail, Jack knows he is living on borrowed time.

And, as they cross the border, Jack soon discovers that the usual rules of war don’t apply. He will have to fight to survive, and this time the battle might prove one he could lose.
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Historical Fiction

On Sale: 1st January 1970

Price: £20.99

ISBN-13: 9781472239105

Reviews

Brilliant
Bernard Cornwell
I love a writer who wears his history lightly enough for the story he's telling to blaze across the pages like this. Jack Lark is an unforgettable new hero
Anthony Riches
It felt accurate, it felt real, it felt alive... Every line every paragraph and page of the battles had me hooked, riveted to the page, there were times when I was almost as breathless as the exhausted soldiers
Parmenion Books