Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Aftershock (Bob Skinner series, Book 18)

Aftershock (Bob Skinner series, Book 18)

Skinner’s world is shaken to the core…

Still reeling from the tragic death of their much-loved colleague, Skinner’s men are about to discover that a disturbed serial killer is still at large and very close to home. Perfect for fans of Ian Rankin and James Oswald.


It’s the second week of July Trades Holiday in Edinburgh when Deputy Chief Constable Bob Skinner and his men get a call informing them that the body of a young woman has been found on a golf course. It’s been there for ten days so she’s not a pretty sight. But the way she has been laid out is uncannily familiar. The body has been ‘composed’, just like the bodies of three other young women in a previous case. Could it be the work of a copycat killer? The murder victim is an art teacher who was having a relationship with the son of a Tory MP. Her ex-boyfriend is a policeman with a reputation as a serious womaniser. It seems the murder trail is getting much too close for comfort…

What readers are saying about Aftershock:

‘In many ways Quintin Jardine is the Scottish answer to John Grisham… whilst reading one is gripped and cannot resist turning the page

‘The twists in the book always keep you guessing. Fantastic writing as always’

‘Top notch stuff and well worth seeking out if you love a gripping thriller with plenty of twists and turns
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Modern & Contemporary Fiction (post C 1945)

On Sale: 5th February 2009

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9780755351039

Reviews

Compelling stuff
Oxford Times
A complex and suspenseful saga that never flags from start to finish
Bolton Evening News
Deplorably readable
Guardian
Gritty cop drama that makes Taggart look tame
Northern Echo
More twists and turns than TV's Taggart at its best
Stirling Observer
Praise for Quintin Jardine: If Ian Rankin is the Robert Carlyle of Scottish crime writers, then Jardine is surely its Sean Connery
Glasgow Herald
If you're looking for a detective whose personal life is as active, contradictory and complicated as his job then follow the Edinburgh exploits of Deputy Chief Constable Bob Skinner in Quintin Jardine's Skinner series
Radio Times