Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Dead and Buried (Bob Skinner series, Book 16)

Dead and Buried (Bob Skinner series, Book 16)

Murder is rarely cut and dried. Usually it follows its own unique, twisted logic…

Bob Skinner has his hands full in Dead and Buried, Quintin Jardine’s sixteenth instalment to feature the hard-as-nails detective. Perfect for fans of Ian Rankin and Peter James.


Deputy Chief Constable Bob Skinner has a failed marriage on his hands, and a death on his conscience. He faces the biggest challenge of his career within the secret corridors of Westminster, where dark power is wielded.

Meanwhile, back in Edinburgh, Skinner’s daughter is being harassed by a stalker. Can he protect her? A bookmaker has taken one gamble too many and paid his debt in a gruesome fashion. Is it an underworld vendetta, or something more sinister? Alongside it all a casual call to the Chief Constable sets him on a personal crusade which quickly points to a bigamist at work. Or is it worse? Four crimes, four crises: can Skinner and his people solve them? Indeed can they survive them?

What readers are saying about Dead and Buried:

Wonderful writer, wonderful book

‘An excellent and enthralling story with much loved characters

‘Four interwoven stories that hold your interest from the very first page – an excellent read’
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Modern & Contemporary Fiction (post C 1945)

On Sale: 8th February 2007

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9780755350988

Reviews

Gritty cop drama that makes Taggart look tame
Northern Echo
A complex and suspenseful saga that never flags from start to finish
Bolton Evening News
If you're looking for a detective whose personal life is as active, contradictory and complicated as his job then follow the Edinburgh exploits of Deputy Chief Constable Bob Skinner in Quintin Jardine's Skinner series
Radio Times
Praise for Quintin Jardine: If Ian Rankin is the Robert Carlyle of Scottish crime writers, then Jardine is surely its Sean Connery
Glasgow Herald
Deplorably readable
Guardian
Compelling stuff
Oxford Times
More twists and turns than TV's Taggart at its best
Stirling Observer