Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Death's Door (Bob Skinner series, Book 17)

Death's Door (Bob Skinner series, Book 17)

A serial killer is setting the most devious traps…

There’s no end to the deviousness of a murderer, and DCC Bob Skinner won’t stop until the killer is caught in Death’s Door, a riveting crime novel from Scotland’s Crime Master Quintin Jardine. Perfect for fans of Ian Rankin and Val McDermid.


‘Jo Bannister, Peter Turnbull, and Ian Rankin can be considered read-a-likes, but when it comes to the depiction of a multilevel police force in action, Jardine… stands alone’ – Library Journal

When two young female artists are murdered in what looks like ritualistic killings, the pressure is on to find a highly professional murderer. What is the link with the art world? Is the killer a disgruntled art critic? A twice-jilted lover? The arrival of the father of one of the victims, millionaire businessman Davor Boras, brings in the big guns of the Home Office, MI5 and the CIA. It’s not long before Deputy Chief Constable Bob Skinner gets called back to the frontline. With an estranged son, a dubious assistant and connections in very high places, what is more important to Boras: business or family? There’s too much at stake – there’s going to be bloodshed, and Skinner’s men are at risk of getting caught in the crossfire…

What readers are saying about Death’s Door:

‘This book has a wonderful, intriguing storyline… an overall must read

Flows along at speed like all Skinner novels but keeps you in suspense right up to the last page’

‘[Quintin Jardine] is THE best crime writer of all time
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

On Sale: 4th September 2008

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9780755351008

Reviews

If Ian Rankin is the Robert Carlyle of Scottish crime writers, then Jardine is surely its Sean Connery
Glasgow Herald
A complex and suspenseful saga that never flags from start to finish
Bolton Evening News
More twists and turns than TV's Taggart at its best
Stirling Observer
Compelling stuff
Oxford Times
Praise for Quintin Jardine: Jo Bannister, Peter Turnbull, and Ian Rankin can be considered read-a-likes, but when it comes to the depiction of a multilevel police force in action, Jardine... stands alone
Library Journal
Deplorably readable
Guardian
Gritty cop drama that makes Taggart look tame
Northern Echo
If you're looking for a detective whose personal life is as active, contradictory and complicated as his job then follow the Edinburgh exploits of Deputy Chief Constable Bob Skinner in Quintin Jardine's Skinner series
Radio Times