Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Fatal Last Words (Bob Skinner series, Book 19)

Fatal Last Words (Bob Skinner series, Book 19)

Death reads between the lines…

It’s no ordinary summer for DCC Bob Skinner, as murder and mystery leap from the page of Fatal Last Words, the nineteenth volume of Quintin Jardine’s outstanding crime series. Perfect for fans of Ian Rankin and Peter May.


‘Very engaging as well as ingenious, and the unravelling of the mystery is excellently done…Very enjoyable. Fatal Last Words will accompany many on their holidays and quite right too’ – Allan Massie, Scotsman

August in Edinburgh: As Skinner stands on the edge of a career-defining moment and his fiancée, Scotland’s First Minister Aileen de Marco faces a political crisis, a famous figure from another field is found dead. As the mystery deepens, Skinner finds himself crossing swords with an old enemy from the past, while his investigating detectives are faced with the unwelcome complication of a duke’s junkie daughter.

Meanwhile a second Scottish celebrity dies violently in Australia. It seems impossible, but could the two be connected? As DCS Mario McGuire heads to Melbourne to investigate, back in Scotland his boss’s big moment is compromised in the most dramatic and unexpected manner, as a famous friendship is shattered for ever.

What readers are saying about Fatal Last Words:

Gripping, from page one to the twist at the end’

Very exciting and very hard to put down

Five stars
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

On Sale: 11th June 2009

Price: £7.99

ISBN-13: 9780755353521

Reviews

Gritty cop drama that makes Taggart look tame
Northern Echo
Praise for Quintin Jardine: Very engaging as well as ingenious, and the unravelling of the mystery is excellently done... Very enjoyable. Fatal Last Words will accompany many on their holidays and quite right too
Allan Massie, <i> Scotsman </i>
More twists and turns than TV's Taggart at its best
Stirling Observer
Compelling stuff
Oxford Times
A complex and suspenseful saga that never flags from start to finish
Bolton Evening News
If Ian Rankin is the Robert Carlyle of Scottish crime writers, then Jardine is surely its Sean Connery
Glasgow Herald
If you're looking for a detective whose personal life is as active, contradictory and complicated as his job then follow the Edinburgh exploits of Deputy Chief Constable Bob Skinner in Quintin Jardine's Skinner series
Radio Times
Deplorably readable
Guardian