Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Funeral Note (Bob Skinner series, Book 22)

Funeral Note (Bob Skinner series, Book 22)

A shallow grave hides the deepest secrets…

An exhumed body reveals long-buried secrets in Quintin Jardine’s Bob Skinner mystery, Funeral Note. Perfect for fans of Ian Rankin and Val McDermid.


After a tip-off, a man’s body is exhumed from a shallow grave in Edinburgh. Murder surely, yet he died from natural causes, so, case closed? Indeed was there ever a case? But Chief Constable Skinner and his people keep on digging. Who was the man, why was he buried so reverentially, and by whom?

Meanwhile corruption is discovered within the force, and an investigation is launched. Immersed in crises, his marriage heading for the rocks, Skinner finds his very career hanging in the balance, its fate beyond his control. In a tale seen through the eyes of each of its leading players, mystery upon mystery is laid down until the greatest threat of all those facing the Chief is revealed, and a deadly race begins. Can he win out, or will his life implode?

What readers are saying about Funeral Note:

‘The big problem with reading Quintin Jardine’s books is that you never want them to end

‘[Bob Skinner is] a larger than life character, whose personal life is as complicated as the murders he solves’

A masterful adventure
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

On Sale: 24th May 2012

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9780755357055

Reviews

More twists and turns than TV's Taggart at its best
Stirling Observer
A complex and suspenseful saga that never flags from start to finish
Bolton Evening News
Compelling stuff
Oxford Times
Praise for Quintin Jardine: If Ian Rankin is the Robert Carlyle of Scottish crime writers, then Jardine is surely its Sean Connery
Glasgow Herald
Gritty cop drama that makes Taggart look tame
Northern Echo
Deplorably readable
Guardian
If you're looking for a detective whose personal life is as active, contradictory and complicated as his job then follow the Edinburgh exploits of Deputy Chief Constable Bob Skinner in Quintin Jardine's Skinner series
Radio Times