Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Grievous Angel (Bob Skinner series, Book 21)

Grievous Angel (Bob Skinner series, Book 21)

In the dark of night, death casts a shadow…

Edinburgh’s toughest cop, Bob Skinner, looks into his past to assuage his demons in Quintin Jardine’s thrilling mystery Grievous Angel.
Perfect for fans of Ian Rankin and Peter James.

Skinner revisits his nightmares: old but not forgotten. Fifteen years in the past, newly promoted Detective Superintendent Bob Skinner is called to investigate a most brutal death. A man lies at the deep end of an empty swimming pool, his neck broken and almost every other bone in his body shattered. Soon, an organised crime connection looms, and bloody retribution spreads to a second city. Then violence erupts on a new front, as a vicious knifeman seems to be targeting Edinburgh’s gay population. As if this double dose of homicide isn’t enough for a single man with a teenage daughter to raise and protect, Skinner’s personal life takes a similar, perilous twist. Can he stay on the side of the angels, or will he fall…?

What readers are saying about Grievous Angel:

Fantastic! This is one of the best Skinners yet’

‘The plots are intriguing and intricate and always suck me right in’

Fast moving and very difficult to put down
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

On Sale: 9th June 2011

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9780755357048

Reviews

Gritty cop drama that makes Taggart look tame
Northern Echo
A complex and suspenseful saga that never flags from start to finish
Bolton Evening News
Deplorably readable
Guardian
Compelling stuff
Oxford Times
More twists and turns than TV's Taggart at its best
Stirling Observer
Praise for Quintin Jardine: If Ian Rankin is the Robert Carlyle of Scottish crime writers, then Jardine is surely its Sean Connery
Glasgow Herald
If you're looking for a detective whose personal life is as active, contradictory and complicated as his job then follow the Edinburgh exploits of Deputy Chief Constable Bob Skinner in Quintin Jardine's Skinner series
Radio Times