Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Last Resort (Bob Skinner series, Book 25)

Last Resort (Bob Skinner series, Book 25)

Justice goes over the edge…

Last Resort is the twenty-fifth novel in the Bob Skinner series by Quintin Jardine, Scotland’s master of crime, and sees the Edinburgh cop back in action as we’ve never seen him before.
Perfect for fans of Ian Rankin and Peter Robinson.

After thirty years of service, former Chief Constable Bob Skinner faces the possible end of his police career, at its pinnacle.

A trip to Catalunya to contemplate his future soon takes on a different flavour when Skinner is asked by a friend, Xavier Aislado, to track down one of his business’s brightest talents, who vanished without a trace.
But it soon becomes clear that another manhunt is in progress, and that Skinner himself is the target. While his daughter Alex fights that battle at home, Skinner’s own search takes one sinister turn after another, until he is faced with the toughest question of all: is natural justice sometimes the only answer?

What readers are saying about Last Resort:

‘A real page turner that keeps you gripped right to the end’

‘The Skinner books… just get better and better

‘Plenty of twists and turns and races to a great conclusion
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

On Sale: 9th April 2015

Price: £7.99

ISBN-13: 9781472205650

Reviews

More twists and turns than TV's Taggart at its best
Stirling Observer
A complex and suspenseful saga that never flags from start to finish
Bolton Evening News
Compelling stuff
Oxford Times
Praise for Quintin Jardine: 'If Ian Rankin is the Robert Carlyle of Scottish crime writers, then Jardine is surely its Sean Connery'
Glasgow Herald
Remarkably assured, raw-boned, a tour de force
New York Times
Deplorably readable
Guardian
Well constructed, fast-paced, Jardine's narrative has many an ingenious twist and turn
Observer
Very engaging as well as ingenious, and the unraveling of the mystery is excellently done
Allan Massie, Scotsman
Gritty cop drama that makes Taggart look tame
Northern Echo
If you're looking for a detective whose personal life is as active, contradictory and complicated as his job then follow the Edinburgh exploits of Deputy Chief Constable Bob Skinner in Quintin Jardine's Skinner series
Radio Times