Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Mathew's Tale

Mathew's Tale

No better friend, no deadlier enemy…

In Mathew’s Tale, his landmark fortieth novel, Quintin Jardine tells the rem
arkable story of a man’s quest for justice – at any cost. Perfect for fans of C.J. Sansom and Paul Doherty.

‘Once I picked it up, I couldn’t let it go’ – Michael Jecks

1818, Carluke, Lanarkshire. Mathew Fleming returns home to Scotland following heroic service at the Battle of Waterloo. After seven years away, he is a ghostly presence to those he left behind.

But Mathew is ambitious and soon becomes a man of influence in his county and beyond. Yet through all his success, he still hides the loss of his one true love.

When a terrible act of murder occurs, Mathew must choose between the rule of blood and the rule of law. And as a man of honour with a warrior’s instincts, he embarks on a journey of vengeance that will test every sinew of his faith in mankind…

What readers are saying about Mathew’s Tale:

‘The quality of the prose, which feels authentically early 19th-century and has such a skilled lightness about it, sucks the reader in and [this book] becomes an addictive read

Mathew’s Tale is full of colour, immersing the reader in a bygone age with deceptive ease. It is such a pleasure to read

‘This is a highly accomplished, sensitive novel, enriched by great storytelling, characterisation and historical setting and mood’
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Historical Fiction

On Sale: 1st October 2014

Price: £7.99

ISBN-13: 9780755385638

Reviews

Praise for Quintin Jardine: Once I picked it up, I couldn't let it go
Michael Jecks
Deplorably readable
Guardian
The perfect mix for a highly charged, fast moving crime thriller
Glasgow Herald