Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Murmuring the Judges (Bob Skinner series, Book 8)

Murmuring the Judges (Bob Skinner series, Book 8)

Justice takes a lethal turn…

Bob Skinner faces a complex case of murder and organised crime in Murmuring the Judges, an absorbing crime thriller from acclaimed author Quintin Jardine.
Perfect for fans of Ian Rankin and James Oswald.

‘Gritty cop drama that makes Taggart look tame’ – Northern Echo Darlington

In Edinburgh’s old Parliament House, an armed robbery trial is about to take a macabre turn. While the lawyers tussle over the evidence, the judge suddenly collapses in agony – the victim of an apparent heart attack. For Deputy Chief Constable Bob Skinner, with his life finally back on track after the near-collapse of his marriage, the last thing he needs is to be faced with the most baffling case of his career. But as the wave of brutal robberies continues, it emerges that Lord Archergait’s death may have been murder – and he’s not the only judge whose life is in danger. With a gang of ruthless killers still at large, it’s down to Skinner to piece together a puzzle of sinister complexity.

What readers are saying about Murmuring the Judges:

‘Jardine has written a tightly paced, yet fully characterised book, filled with action, pathos and fulfilment

‘The Skinner series of books are tremendous… once I start reading one I struggle to put the book down

Fast paced and intriguing with an ending that will make you pick up the next novel in the series straight away’
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

On Sale: 7th January 2010

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9780755353606

Reviews

Praise for Quintin Jardine: Gritty cop drama that makes Taggart look tame
Northern Echo
If you're looking for a detective whose personal life is as active, contradictory and complicated as his job then follow the Edinburgh exploits of Deputy Chief Constable Bob Skinner in Quintin Jardine's Skinner series
Radio Times
A complex and suspenseful saga that never flags from start to finish
Bolton Evening News
Compelling stuff
Oxford Times
More twists and turns than TV's Taggart at its best
Stirling Observer
If Ian Rankin is the Robert Carlyle of Scottish crime writers, then Jardine is surely its Sean Connery
Glasgow Herald
Deplorably readable
Guardian