Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Pray for the Dying (Bob Skinner series, Book 23)

Pray for the Dying (Bob Skinner series, Book 23)

Family ties can hide deep wounds…

Bob Skinner uncovers a trail of evil in Pray for the Dying, Quintin Jardine’s gripping crime thriller. Perfect for fans of Ian Rankin and James Oswald.


‘Jardine’s 23rd Bob Skinner mystery showcases the shrewd and personable Edinburgh cop at his relentless best’ – Publishers Weekly

The killing was an expert hit. Three shots through the head, as the lights dimmed at a celebrity concert in Glasgow. A most public crime, and Edinburgh Chief Constable Bob Skinner is right in the centre of the storm, as it breaks over the Strathclyde force.

The shooters are dead too, killed at the scene. But who sent them?

The crisis finds Skinner, his private life shattered by the shocking end of his marriage, taking a step that he had sworn he never would. Tasked by Scotland’s First Minister with the investigation of the outrage, he finds himself quickly uncovering some very murky deeds. The trail leads to London, where national issues compromise the hunt. Skinner has to rattle the bars of the most formidable cage in the country, and go head to head with its leading power brokers, a confrontation that seems too much, even for him. Can the Chief solve the most challenging mystery of his career… or will failure end it?

What readers are saying about Pray for the Dying:

Gripping from the moment I started reading… twists and turns all the way through it that leave you guessing right to the end. Fantastic book’

‘A page turner from the first word to the last’

‘An intricate plot, very well thought out and executed – enthralling
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

On Sale: 6th June 2013

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9780755357062

Reviews

Praise for Quintin Jardine: Jardine's 23rd Bob Skinner mystery showcases the shrewd and personable Edinburgh cop at his relentless best
Publishers Weekly
If Ian Rankin is the Robert Carlyle of Scottish crime writers, then Jardine is surely its Sean Connery
Glasgow Herald
If you're looking for a detective whose personal life is as active, contradictory and complicated as his job then follow the Edinburgh exploits of Deputy Chief Constable Bob Skinner in Quintin Jardine's Skinner series
Radio Times
A complex and suspenseful saga that never flags from start to finish
Bolton Evening News
Gritty cop drama that makes Taggart look tame
Northern Echo
More twists and turns than TV's Taggart at its best
Stirling Observer
Deplorably readable
Guardian
Compelling stuff
Oxford Times