Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Private Investigations (Bob Skinner series, Book 26)

Private Investigations (Bob Skinner series, Book 26)

Death is a hard habit to break…

Private Investigations is Quintin Jardine’s twenty-sixth Bob Skinner mystery and sees the Edinburgh sleuth plunged into a gruelling case, in which no score will go unsettled. A thrilling mystery for fans of Ian Rankin and Peter James.


Former Chief Constable Bob Skinner has uncovered his fair share of shocking crime scenes over his thirty-year career. But none could prepare him for the sight he finds stowed in the back of a stolen car that collides with his on the outskirts of Edinburgh.

As his former colleagues investigate, Skinner takes on an unusual commission of his own.
The body count rises, motives appear, the hunt goes global, and potential conflicts surface. In his new guise, is Skinner is on the side of the angels… or working against them?

What readers are saying about Private Investigations:

Brilliant read from first to last page’

‘The plot has plenty of twists and turns… and with a new development in every chapter, it is extremely addictive

‘There is something for everyone in Private Investigations, a complicated plot, an interesting protagonist, some serious points and humour
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

On Sale: 5th May 2016

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9781472205698

Reviews

A complex and suspenseful saga that never flags from start to finish
Bolton Evening News
Deplorably readable
Guardian
More twists and turns than TV's Taggart at its best
Stirling Observer
Remarkably assured, raw-boned, a tour de force
New York Times
Gritty cop drama that makes Taggart look tame
Northern Echo
Compelling stuff
Oxford Times
Very engaging as well as ingenious, and the unraveling of the mystery is excellently done
Allan Massie, Scotsman
Well constructed, fast-paced, Jardine's narrative has many an ingenious twist and turn
Observer
If you're looking for a detective whose personal life is as active, contradictory and complicated as his job then follow the Edinburgh exploits of Deputy Chief Constable Bob Skinner in Quintin Jardine's Skinner series
Radio Times
Praise for Quintin Jardine: 'If Ian Rankin is the Robert Carlyle of Scottish crime writers, then Jardine is surely its Sean Connery'
Glasgow Herald