We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

ebook / ISBN-13: 9780755353545

Price: £9.99

ON SALE: 13th November 2008

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

Select a format:

Paperback

Disclosure: If you buy products using the retailer buttons above, we may earn a commission from the retailers you visit.

Countdown to disaster for Edinburgh’s hardest cop…

Terrorists strike at the heart of the Edinburgh Festival in Skinner’s Festival, Quintin Jardine’s second novel in the ever popular Bob Skinner series. Perfect for fans of Ian Rankin and Val McDermid.


‘Robustly entertaining’ – Irish Times

An explosion rocks Princes Street in the midst of the Edinburgh Festival. Responsibility is claimed by a group supposedly demanding political separation from Britain, but as atrocities escalate Skinner realises this is no gang of fanatics, but a highly professional team. The Fighters for an Independent Scotland want the English out of Scotland too and they’re ready to back up their demands with bombings, murders and blackmail threats aimed at wreaking havoc at the Edinburgh Festival of the Arts.

But the Fighters haven’t reckoned with Assistant Chief Constable Bob Skinner, head of the Edinburgh CID and security adviser to Secretary of State Alan Ballantyne. Even as craven Ballantyne vows empty defiance of the Fighters, defending his principles with the blood of innocent coppers and bystanders, Skinner assembles a crack task force, carries the ball when the Secretary fumbles on the air, and wrestles with the beast within, who emerges with periodic ferocity to foil a clever, greedy scheme involving the crown jewels and Skinner’s own daughter.

What readers are saying about Skinner’s Festival:

Gripping, plot twisting brilliance, a true thriller

Suspense from beginning to end’

‘Totally absorbing

Couldn’t put it down

What's Inside

Read More Read Less