Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Skinner's Festival (Bob Skinner series, Book 2)

Skinner's Festival (Bob Skinner series, Book 2)

Countdown to disaster for Edinburgh’s hardest cop…

Terrorists strike at the heart of the Edinburgh Festival in Skinner’s Festival, Quintin Jardine’s second novel in the ever popular Bob Skinner series. Perfect for fans of Ian Rankin and Val McDermid.


‘Robustly entertaining’ – Irish Times

An explosion rocks Princes Street in the midst of the Edinburgh Festival. Responsibility is claimed by a group supposedly demanding political separation from Britain, but as atrocities escalate Skinner realises this is no gang of fanatics, but a highly professional team. The Fighters for an Independent Scotland want the English out of Scotland too and they’re ready to back up their demands with bombings, murders and blackmail threats aimed at wreaking havoc at the Edinburgh Festival of the Arts.

But the Fighters haven’t reckoned with Assistant Chief Constable Bob Skinner, head of the Edinburgh CID and security adviser to Secretary of State Alan Ballantyne. Even as craven Ballantyne vows empty defiance of the Fighters, defending his principles with the blood of innocent coppers and bystanders, Skinner assembles a crack task force, carries the ball when the Secretary fumbles on the air, and wrestles with the beast within, who emerges with periodic ferocity to foil a clever, greedy scheme involving the crown jewels and Skinner’s own daughter.

What readers are saying about Skinner’s Festival:

Gripping, plot twisting brilliance, a true thriller

Suspense from beginning to end’

‘Totally absorbing

Couldn’t put it down
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

On Sale: 13th November 2008

Price: £7.99

ISBN-13: 9780755353545

Reviews

If Ian Rankin is the Robert Carlyle of Scottish crime writers, then Jardine is surely its Sean Connery
Glasgow Herald
If you're looking for a detective whose personal life is as active, contradictory and complicated as his job then follow the Edinburgh exploits of Deputy Chief Constable Bob Skinner in Quintin Jardine's Skinner series
Radio Times
Praise for Quintin Jardine: Robustly entertaining
Irish Times
More twists and turns than TV's Taggart at its best
Stirling Observer
Compelling stuff
Oxford Times
Gritty cop drama that makes Taggart look tame
Northern Echo
Comes through strongly and believably... has the right city atmosphere
Edinburgh Evening News
Deplorably readable
Guardian