Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Skinner's Mission (Bob Skinner series, Book 6)

Skinner's Mission (Bob Skinner series, Book 6)

Murder past and present obsesses Edinburgh’s hardest cop…

Skinner must help a criminal in order to catch a killer in Skinner’s Mission, the sixth novel in Quintin Jardine’s bestselling Edinburgh crime series. Perfect for fans of Ian Rankin and Peter James.


‘Once again Jardine serves up a thriller full of action, gritty realism and sharp patter’ – Darlington Northern Echo

When an Edinburgh car showroom is torched, leaving a charred body among the burnt-out luxury cars, Deputy Chief Constable Bob Skinner wonders if a life of crime has finally caught up with one of the city’s most elusive villains. But the corpse turns out not to be that of Jackie Charles, the owner of the showroom, but his wife Carole. Skinner now finds himself on the same side as his old enemy in the search for the killer.

However, Skinner’s number one priority is a murder much closer to home. Ever since memories of his first wife Myra’s death resurfaced under hypnosis, the question of how she really died has become an obsession which could threaten his career, his marriage and even his sanity. As Skinner and his daughter Alex unlock the hidden secrets of Myra’s past, they discover a woman neither could have imagined. A Myra whose bloody fate is linked inextricably across the years with the fiery death of Carole Charles and the murderous events which it triggers.

What readers are saying about Skinner’s Mission:

Absolutely first class

‘A book I couldn’t put down. Skinner is fascinating

Compelling story with a completely unexpected twist
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Modern & Contemporary Fiction (post C 1945)

On Sale: 13th November 2008

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9780755353583

Reviews

A complex and suspenseful saga that never flags from start to finish
Bolton Evening News
If Ian Rankin is the Robert Carlyle of Scottish crime writers, then Jardine is surely its Sean Connery
Glasgow Herald
Compelling stuff
Oxford Times
More twists and turns than TV's Taggart at its best
Stirling Observer
If you're looking for a detective whose personal life is as active, contradictory and complicated as his job then follow the Edinburgh exploits of Deputy Chief Constable Bob Skinner in Quintin Jardine's Skinner series
Radio Times
Praise for Quintin Jardine: Once again Jardine serves up a thriller full of action, gritty realism and sharp patter
Darlington Northern Echo
Deplorably readable
Guardian