Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Skinner's Ordeal (Bob Skinner series, Book 5)

Skinner's Ordeal (Bob Skinner series, Book 5)

Edinburgh’s hardest cop faces private crisis and public disaster…

Skinner faces both the biggest case of his career and crippling personal crisis in Skinner’s Ordeal, the thrilling fifth novel in Quintin Jardine’s bestselling Edinburgh crime series. Perfect for fans of Ian Rankin and Peter Robinson.


‘Quintin Jardine has created the toughest Scottish cop since Taggart’ – Peterborough Evening Telegraph

A mid-air explosion; a plane plunges to disaster from the Scottish skies, the British and American Defence Secretaries among the victims. Out of the blue, Edinburgh’s Deputy Chief Constable finds himself leading the biggest investigation of his career. The means of destruction is apparent from the start, but the investigation quickly grows more puzzling – for once they have an embarrassment of suspects with motive and opportunity. Then sudden random violence wrenches Skinner himself out of the picture. While his colleagues struggle with the mass of clues, he lies on the brink of death, trapped with the horrors from his own hidden past. As Skinner’s ordeal reaches its crescendo, the police pursue their suspects one by one, until at last they are brought to a dramatic, thrilling, but tragic conclusion.

Read more in State Secrets – also featuring Bob Skinner.

What readers are saying about Skinner’s Ordeal:

‘An excellent read, and one of the best thrillers in ages’

‘What a book, what a story. Magnificent

‘A really gripping thriller, with many twists and turns
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

On Sale: 13th November 2008

Price: £7.99

ISBN-13: 9780755353576

Reviews

If Ian Rankin is the Robert Carlyle of Scottish crime writers, then Jardine is surely its Sean Connery
Glasgow Herald
Gritty cop drama that makes Taggart look tame
Northern Echo
Deplorably readable
Guardian
More twists and turns than TV's Taggart at its best
Stirling Observer
If you're looking for a detective whose personal life is as active, contradictory and complicated as his job then follow the Edinburgh exploits of Deputy Chief Constable Bob Skinner in Quintin Jardine's Skinner series
Radio Times
Compelling stuff
Oxford Times
Fast-paced, fast-cut stuff... some sharply written dialogue
Worcester & Hereford Evening News
Praise for Quintin Jardine: Quintin Jardine has created the toughest Scottish cop since Taggart
Peterborough Evening Telegraph
A complex and suspenseful saga that never flags from start to finish
Bolton Evening News