Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Skinner's Rules (Bob Skinner series, Book 1)

Skinner's Rules (Bob Skinner series, Book 1)

Edinburgh’s hardest cop hunts a serial killer…

The book that launched a legend: Skinner’s Rules is the first novel in the bestselling Bob Skinner series by acclaimed author Quintin Jardine. Perfect for fans of Ian Rankin and Peter James.


‘Remarkably assured novel… a tour de force’ – New York Times

As head of Edinburgh’s CID, Detective Chief Superintendent Bob Skinner has seen it all… but even he is shocked by the savagely mutilated corpse discovered in a dark alleyway. The victim is identified as a successful young lawyer, and the motive for the brutal death remains a mystery. Then further seemingly random killings in the city begin to suggest a vicious serial killer is on the rampage. But when the lawyer’s fiancée is also murdered, Skinner realises that someone is in deadly earnest…

What readers are saying about Skinner’s Rules:

‘Quintin Jardine is by far the best author of crime fiction I have ever read’

Brilliant book, with strong characters who are likeable and believable. Well worth reading if you like crime thrillers that keep you on the edge of your seat

‘Quintin Jardin starts to build the rich character of Bob Skinner from the start, capturing the quintessence of both Edinburgh and a crime investigation… You’ll pick it up and not put it down
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Modern & Contemporary Fiction (post C 1945)

On Sale: 11th June 2009

Price: £7.99

ISBN-13: 9780755353835

Reviews

Remarkably assured novel... a tour de force
New York Times
Compelling stuff
Oxford Times
Deplorably readable
Guardian
As hardboiled as any Taggart story
Peterborough Evening Telegraph
Gritty cop drama that makes Taggart look tame
Northern Echo
Praise for Quintin Jardine: If Ian Rankin is the Robert Carlyle of Scottish crime writers, then Jardine is surely its Sean Connery
Glasgow Herald
Excellent thriller
Manchester Evening News
If you're looking for a detective whose personal life is as active, contradictory and complicated as his job then follow the Edinburgh exploits of Deputy Chief Constable Bob Skinner in Quintin Jardine's Skinner series
Radio Times
Rich in local characterisation... an enjoyable adventure
Edinburgh Evening News
A first-class read
Jeffrey Archer