Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Stay of Execution (Bob Skinner series, Book 14)

Stay of Execution (Bob Skinner series, Book 14)

Can you fight evil with evil…?

As international terrorism stalks the City of Edinburgh, DCC Bob Skinner confronts his darkest demons in Quintin Jardine’s gripping crime thriller Stay of Execution.
Perfect for fans of Ian Rankin and Peter May.

Evil stalks the city of Edinburgh. This time the threat is bigger than the crooks, scam-artists or drug dealers who find their prey in the shadows of the streets. Some people are looking for a big-time hit. The body of a respectable businessman is found hanging from a tree; a veteran from a Belgian marching band is killed in a hit-and-run incident and another dies of an apparent heart attack. Excitement on the streets of Edinburgh is feverish as the city prepares for a huge rally to celebrate the return of Pope John the 25th to his home town. The security has to be bulletproof. But there is a chink in the armour. Does DCC Bob Skinner have the inner strength to find the answer to the biggest question of all?

What readers are saying about Stay of Execution:

‘A great read; riveting until the final denouement’

‘Quintin Jardine’s Skinner stories captivate you’

Five stars
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

On Sale: 13th November 2008

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9780755353705

Reviews

Praise for Quintin Jardine: If Ian Rankin is the Robert Carlyle of Scottish crime writers, then Jardine is surely its Sean Connery
Glasgow Herald
If you're looking for a detective whose personal life is as active, contradictory and complicated as his job then follow the Edinburgh exploits of Deputy Chief Constable Bob Skinner in Quintin Jardine's Skinner series
Radio Times
A complex and suspenseful saga that never flags from start to finish
Bolton Evening News
Gritty cop drama that makes Taggart look tame
Northern Echo
More twists and turns than TV's Taggart at its best
Stirling Observer
Deplorably readable
Guardian
Compelling stuff
Oxford Times