Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The Loner

The Loner

Is the truth worth dying for…?

The Loner is a unique and gripping stand-alone novel from masterful novelist Quintin Jardine – a powerful story of one man who discovers shocking secrets. Perfect for fans of Ian Rankin and Val McDermid.


Xavier (Xavi) Aislado is a gentle giant, half Spanish, half Scot, brought up in Edinburgh by his grandmother, Paloma Puig, a ferocious old lady whose grim brand of care sees him into his teens, until his father moves back to Spain, leaving him to grow up fast. His emergence into manhood is colourful, and eventful. After a short career as a professional footballer, he turns to journalism, and has a bloody introduction to the trade, as his first assignment ends in violent death.

Inevitably, remorselessly, as his autobiography unfolds, Xavi’s life and his love become entwined with his work, and he is immersed in tragedy, loss and betrayal, going halfway round the world in search of a truth that may destroy him. Quintin Jardine’s evocation of Xavi’s fated world is an unforgettable story of a man riding a one-way train to oblivion. Will he escape, before it hits the buffers, full-speed?

What readers are saying about The Loner:

‘Jardine is a great writer when it comes to keeping up the suspense and drip feeding the reader information and clues’

‘Quintin Jardine’s writing flows and keeps you hooked right to the end’

This book shows just what Quintin Jardine is capable of
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

On Sale: 31st March 2011

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9780755357192

Reviews

Praise for Quintin Jardine: The perfect mix for a highly charged, fast moving crime thriller
Glasgow Herald
Deplorably readable
Guardian