Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The Murder Game

The Murder Game

We were all there that day. Now one of us is dead…

The first time Jemma and Matt were invited to Polskirrin – Lucas Jarrett’s imposing ocean-view home – it was for an intimate wedding that ended in tragedy. Jemma will never forget the sight of the girl’s body floating towards the rocky shore.

Now, exactly one year later, Lucas has invited his guests back for a macabre anniversary.

But what Lucas has in store for them is nothing like a candlelight vigil. Someone who was there that night remembers more than they’ll admit to, and Lucas has devised a game to make them tell the truth.

Jemma believes she and Matt know nothing about what happened… but what if she’s wrong? Before you play a deadly game, make sure you can pay the price…

From the four-million-copy bestselling author comes a psychological thriller that will have you gripped until the last page. Perfect for fans of Something in the Water and The Silent Patient.

What readers are saying about THE MURDER GAME (STEPHANIE KING BOOK 2):

‘Abbott is a gifted storyteller and this book is a total delight’
Daily Mail

‘A twisty-turny plot that had my head reeling, and my mind full of intrigue. Superb plotting from the mistress of suspense’ Mel Sherratt, bestselling author of Hush Hush

‘A grand re-imagining of the best kind of crime caper, filled with underlying tensions, fancy rooms and a detective hungry for answers’ Magic Radio: April Book Club Pick

‘Fantastic and gripping – I loved the intriguing concept and the brilliantly atmospheric Cornish setting’ Karen Hamilton, bestselling author of The Perfect Girlfriend

‘This gallops along at a cracking pace, and manages to keep the twists and surprises coming thick and fast’ Crime Monthly

‘A brilliant read, full of suspense’ Closer

Praise for Rachel Abbott’s thrillers:

‘A dark, extremely readable, well-plotted psychological thriller’ The Times

‘It’s easy to see why readers keep coming back for this author’s thrills’ Observer

‘What a storyteller Rachel Abbott is… I was hooked from the start’ Cara Hunter, author of Close to Home

‘The twists just don’t stop’ Heat

‘A blockbuster crammed with drama and laced with up-to-date psychological insight’ Daily Mail

‘A properly addictive, leave-the-light-on thriller’ Red Magazine
Read More

Genre: Europe / British Isles / United Kingdom, Great Britain / England / South West England / Cornwall

On Sale: 16th April 2020

Price: £12.99

ISBN-13: 9781472254955

Reviews

Really gripping and menacing - compulsive reading
Harriet Tyce, Blood Orange
I was hooked from the first page, it was absolutely brilliant ... The twists came so quickly I almost got whiplash
Jenny Blackhurst, The Foster Child
I loved it! It's a breathless tour de force that left me hungry for more. I loved the strong female characters, atmospheric Cornish setting and the truly surprising ending. Psychological crime writing at its very best.
Kate Rhodes, Crossbones Yard
What a storyteller Rachel Abbott is... I was hooked from the start
Cara Hunter, Close to Home
I raced through this compelling, twisty novel. Loved it
Laura Marshall, Friend Request
Rachel Abbott is one of my favourite authors, and I'm reminded why every time I pick up one of her books... And So It Begins is an unnerving, twisting tale that you won't be able to put down
Caroline Mitchell, Silent Victim
A truly compelling, twisty, enthralling and satisfying read... Absolutely AMAZING!
Angela Marsons, Evil Games
With And So It Begins, Rachael Abbott has delivered another intricately plotted thriller that never falters on tension or pace ... the suspense doesn't let up until the very last page
Michelle Davies, Gone Astray
The definition of addictive - Rachel Abbott's best book yet. Kept me up until the small hours - and you won't see the ending coming
Phoebe Morgan, The Doll House
The case is complex, the courtroom drama intense and the shifting perspectives successfully undermine expectation in this novel of obsession, revenge and retribution
Woman & Home
There's a clever twist, which Abbott carefully unveils... it's easy to see why readers keep coming back for this author's thrills
Observer
A Must Read
S Magazine
The queen of psychological thrillers does not disappoint with this dark and tense tale
Fabulous
Abbott's first traditionally published novel is a powerhouse combinaiton of psycological thriller and intense courtroom drama - and the twists just don't stop coming.
Lisa Howells, Heat
Abbott debuts in print with an explosive thriller. It's a minefield of surprises ... It twists and turns like a snake in an oil slick.
Peterborough Telegraph
And So It Begins is a dark, extremely readable, well-plotted psychological thriller culminating in a courtroom drama... It's obvious why Abbott has attracted her huge audience.
The Times
If you're a fan of Gone Girl and The Girl On The Train, Rachel Abbott's And So It Begins won't disappoint ... Abbott leaves you guessing until the final few pages.
Herald
It's easy to see from this gripping story's frequent twists and bluffs, in a narrative that's rooted in psychology, how word-of-mouth recommendation from one reader to another allowed Abbott to stand out in a crowded market.
Morning Star