Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

In a Land of Paper Gods

In a Land of Paper Gods

Shortlisted for the Royal Society of Literature Ondaatje Prize 2017.

A brilliantly distinctive debut set in China in the Second World War, IN A LAND OF PAPER GODS by Rebecca Mackenzie will appeal to readers who loved Oranges Are Not The Only Fruit or The Light Between Oceans.

Jiangxi Province, China, 1941. Atop the fabled mountain of Lushan perches a boarding school for the children of British missionaries. While her parents pursue their calling, ten-year-old Henrietta S. Robertson discovers that she, too, has been singled out by the Lord.

As Japanese invaders draw closer, Etta and her dorm mates retreat into a world where boundaries between make believe and reality become dangerously blurred. So begins a remarkable journey, through a mystical landscape and to the heart of a war.

Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Modern & Contemporary Fiction (post C 1945)

On Sale: 28th January 2016

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9781472224217

Reviews

Set in a missionary school in China... carries echoes of Empire of the Sun and The Poisonwood Bible
Observer (2016 Highlights)
If you like your novels lyrical but pacy, look out for this beautiful debut
Elle
Mackenzie is a self-assured, poetic storyteller... This is a wonderful, special book. I inhaled it
Red
Really enjoyed IN A LAND OF PAPER GODS - a dreamlike tale, like a cross between Picnic at Hanging Rock and Empire of the Sun... lovely prose and a great setting
Stav Sherez
Infused with a delicate, melancholy note of nostalgia, Mackenzie's depiction of a bygone world is vividly realised
Independent
A beautifully conjured debut
Sainsbury’s Magazine
Rebecca Mackenzie's vigorous prose is original and highly evocative. The untameable beauty of China's Lushan mountain and the dangers that lie beyond are echoed in the dramatic landscapes that Etta must navigate within herself. Her fate will linger in your thoughts long after the story ends
Claire King, author of THE NIGHT RAINBOW
An evocative and involving novel with a wonderful setting
Woman & Home
Such a wonderful voice, very funny and hugely moving
Anna James @ The Bookseller
Its pleasures come in discovering Etta's character, seeing her grow, and the atmosphere of melancholy and loss that infuses the book
Emerald Street
A soaring work of the imagination... a beautifully written book, powerfully moving but surprisingly funny, too
Herald
An imaginative and touching debut
Good Housekeeping
Henrietta S. Robertson is a beguiling, wilful and wonderfully realised creation, whose humour, imagination and yearning will captivate readers... this is a wonderful debut
Jackie Copleton, author of A DICTIONARY OF MUTUAL UNDERSTANDING
[A] beautifully imagined novel, at times whimsical and at others harrowing
Sunday Express S Magazine
This coming of age tale with a loveable protagonist, set in a fascinating time and a beautiful location is a breath-taking debut and one that will definitely capture many hearts, as it did my own
The Tattoed Book
A richly imagined novel that cleverly intertwines two cultures
Daily Mail
A beautifully poignant book... a story full of adolescent verve, young girls coming of age as the world around them falls apart, that remains somehow delightful, both playful and tender, as it breaks your heart. I loved it.
Lindsay Hawdon, author of JAKOB'S COLOURS
A beautifully written coming of age story
Red - Books of 2016
An intriguing, well told story, beautifully descriptive of the China of that period
Choice

Events