Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

A Coin For The Ferryman (A Libertus Mystery of Roman Britain, book 9)

A Coin For The Ferryman (A Libertus Mystery of Roman Britain, book 9)

Libertus is in a race against time to solve his latest mystery…

Rosemary Rowe’s clever whodunits continue to delight fans of historical crime, with Libertus and Junio proving a formidable and popular detective team in the ninth novel of the Libertus series, A Coin for the Ferryman. Perfect for fans of David Wishart and Lindsey Davis.

‘A cracking tale with a fast-moving plot’ – Conn Iggulden

In Roman Britain, AD 189, every slave knows his lot in life depends solely on the morals – or lack of morals – of his master. Fortunately for one young Glevum slave, Junio, his owner, former slave turned pavement-maker Libertus, believes heartily in rewarding years of loyalty and service. Junio is to be granted his freedom in an elaborate ceremony at the Basilica Law Court. And what better moment than the manumission to announce the lad’s engagement? But the young couple’s happiness is threatened by a terrible omen: the gruesome discovery of a corpse, hastily concealed in a shallow grave. Who is it? And, more importantly, who will go to any lengths to cover up their heinous crime? Determined to solve the mystery before the impending nuptials, Junio joins his mentor Libertus in trying to piece together a truly masterful mosaic of murder…

What readers are saying about A Coin for the Ferryman:

‘A very intriguing murder mystery of a great series’

‘Rosemary Rowe is to be commended for writing a series which manages to be entertaining and lively whilst drip feeding information about the period directly into the subconscious

‘The red herrings are very well contrived and as usual, the information about Romano-British life is a fascination in itself’
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items

On Sale: 11th April 2013

Price: £5.49

ISBN-13: 9781472205131

Reviews

Praise for the Libertus series: 'Demonstrates Rowe's pity command of the Roman sleuth genre
The Times
Well-researched and eminently readable... Readers can enjoy the plot and soak up facts about Roman life and Language
South Wales Argus
A considerable achievement
The Times
This exciting and adventurous historical...will appeal to Stephen Saylor fans
Library Journal
Rowe...an outstanding Roman historical mystery writer...excels at drawing the reader into second-century Roman Britain. Her sympathetic hero will engage mystery fans and readers of the classics alike
Publishers Weekly
It's a humdinger of a plot with more twists and turns than a spiral staircase
Northern Echo
A traditional country-house mystery translated to the Roman world - even featuring the mandatory body in the bibliotheca... There are charming details about innocent life on the fringes of empire
Independent
A brilliantly realised historical setting dovetails perfectly with a sharp plot in this history-cum-whodunnit
Good Book Guide
Rowe is very good on the realities of Roman life... and there is a pleasing attention to detail... A deftly woven tale of patriots and intrigue
Historical Novels Review
Cunningly drawn and the very devil to fathom until the final pages
Coventry Evening Telegraph