Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

A Pattern of Blood (A Libertus Mystery of Roman Britain, book 2)

A Pattern of Blood (A Libertus Mystery of Roman Britain, book 2)

Britain is under Roman rule and a killer is at large…

A Pattern of Blood, the second novel in Rosemary Rowe’s highly acclaimed Libertus series, investigates multiple murders. Libertus must solve the mystery before the killer strikes again. The perfect read for fans of David Wishart and Lindsey Davis.

‘Demonstrates Rowe’s pithy command of the Roman sleuth genre… A considerable achievement’ – The Times

Pavement-maker Libertus, a former slave who is now a Roman citizen, is not entirely surprised to witness a stabbing near the chariot race ground in bustling Corinium (modern Cirencester). Luckily the victim, the wealthy decurion Quintus Ulpius, has a personal physician on hand and tragedy is averted. Commanded by his patron Marcus Septimus to investigate the attack, Libertus arrives at Quintus’s mansion only moments before the decurion is knifed again, this time fatally. When one of Quintus’s enemies is found with bloodstains on his toga, for Marcus the case is closed. But Libertus is not at all convinced the solution is that simple. When a second body is found, he knows he must act fast before other lives are threatened – including his own.

What readers are saying about A Pattern of Blood:

‘Enjoyed the humour, great puzzle and evocative details of Romano-British life’

Well researched and the storytelling is excellent

‘Another fine piece of work and an entertaining journey with Libertus’
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items

On Sale: 11th April 2013

Price: £5.49

ISBN-13: 9781472205063

Reviews

Rowe is very good on the realities of Roman life... and there is a pleasing attention to detail... A deftly woven tale of patriots and intrigue
Historical Novels Review
A brilliantly realised historical setting dovetails perfectly with a sharp plot in this history-cum-whodunnit
Good Book Guide
It's a humdinger of a plot with more twists and turns than a spiral staircase
Northern Echo
Cunningly drawn and the very devil to fathom until the final pages
Coventry Evening Telegraph
This exciting and adventurous historical...will appeal to Stephen Saylor fans
Library Journal
Rowe...an outstanding Roman historical mystery writer...excels at drawing the reader into second-century Roman Britain. Her sympathetic hero will engage mystery fans and readers of the classics alike
Publishers Weekly
A considerable achievement
The Times
Well-researched and eminently readable... Readers can enjoy the plot and soak up facts about Roman life and Language
South Wales Argus
A traditional country-house mystery translated to the Roman world - even featuring the mandatory body in the bibliotheca... There are charming details about innocent life on the fringes of empire
Independent
Praise for the Libertus series: 'Demonstrates Rowe's pity command of the Roman sleuth genre
The Times