Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

A Roman Ransom (A Libertus Mystery of Roman Britain, book 8)

A Roman Ransom (A Libertus Mystery of Roman Britain, book 8)

A thrilling glimpse of life in Roman Britain…

A bedbound Libertus is faced with one of his toughest dilemmas yet, involving a dangerous ransom note. A Roman Ransom is the perfect read for fans of David Wishart and Lindsey Davis.

‘It’s a humdinger of a plot with more twists and turns than a spiral staircase’ – Northern Echo

Glevum, AD 188. Lying in his sick bed, weak and disoriented, Libertus is strictly forbidden visitors. But when Marcus Septimus forces his way in, desperate to speak to the pavement-maker, Libertus knows that something is seriously wrong. Marcus’s beloved wife Julia and their baby son have disappeared without a trace. And now a ransom note has arrived, wrapped in the hem of Julia’s stola: unless Marcus uses his power to release a certain political prisoner, he will never see his family alive again. Libertus is well aware of Marcus’s dilemma: give in to the kidnappers and sacrifice his reputation for being fair and unmoved by bribery, or stand firm and provoke unimaginable consequences. But Libertus has also made a powerful enemy. How can he help his patron – and himself – this time?

What readers are saying about A Roman Ransom:

‘Rowe captures a genuine atmosphere in a way unequalled by almost any other author of the Roman period’

Another fine addition to the Libertus series

‘Rosemary Rowe is unsurpassed in creating a picture of Roman Britain
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

On Sale: 11th April 2013

Price: £5.49

ISBN-13: 9781472205124

Reviews

Praise for the Libertus series: 'Demonstrates Rowe's pity command of the Roman sleuth genre
The Times
It's a humdinger of a plot with more twists and turns than a spiral staircase
Northern Echo
Rowe...an outstanding Roman historical mystery writer...excels at drawing the reader into second-century Roman Britain. Her sympathetic hero will engage mystery fans and readers of the classics alike
Publishers Weekly
Rowe is very good on the realities of Roman life... and there is a pleasing attention to detail... A deftly woven tale of patriots and intrigue
Historical Novels Review
A brilliantly realised historical setting dovetails perfectly with a sharp plot in this history-cum-whodunnit
Good Book Guide
This exciting and adventurous historical...will appeal to Stephen Saylor fans
Library Journal
A traditional country-house mystery translated to the Roman world - even featuring the mandatory body in the bibliotheca... There are charming details about innocent life on the fringes of empire
Independent
Well-researched and eminently readable... Readers can enjoy the plot and soak up facts about Roman life and Language
South Wales Argus
Cunningly drawn and the very devil to fathom until the final pages
Coventry Evening Telegraph
A considerable achievement
The Times