Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The Chariots of Calyx (A Libertus Mystery of Roman Britain, book 4)

The Chariots of Calyx (A Libertus Mystery of Roman Britain, book 4)

Can Libertus crack a case of brutal murders and shocking twists?

A tale of corruption and intrigue, The Chariots of Calyx is the fourth instalment in Rosemary Rowe’s gripping Libertus series. The perfect read for fans of Stephen Saylor and Lindsey Davis.

‘Well-researched and eminently readable… Readers can enjoy the plot and soak up facts about Roman life and Language’ – South Wales Argus

Libertus, freedman and pavement-maker, finds himself in Londinium at the invitation of the Roman Governor when news arrives of the brutal murder of Caius Monnius, the chief corn-officer. Libertus is asked to investigate but his enquiries lead him in disparate directions. Who is the guilty one? The keeper of the granaries? The sinister Calyx and Glaucus, managers of the best chariot-racing team? Or Fortunatus, the handsome charioteer whose relations with the dead man’s wife were reputed to be less than honourable? Not until Libertus finds a second corpse does he begin to understand what lies behind the corruption surrounding the interests of Monnius and the chariots of Calyx.

What readers are saying about The Chariots of Calyx:

‘I found the parallels between the Roman world and the modern one as intriguing as ever, especially the insights into corruption in high places

Combines wit, pace, intrigue and remarkable thought processes from our sleuth’

‘Another addition to a first rate series of books’
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items

On Sale: 11th April 2013

Price: £5.49

ISBN-13: 9781472205087

Reviews

A traditional country-house mystery translated to the Roman world - even featuring the mandatory body in the bibliotheca... There are charming details about innocent life on the fringes of empire
Independent
Well-researched and eminently readable... Readers can enjoy the plot and soak up facts about Roman life and Language
South Wales Argus
Praise for the Libertus series: 'Demonstrates Rowe's pity command of the Roman sleuth genre
The Times
It's a humdinger of a plot with more twists and turns than a spiral staircase
Northern Echo
Rowe...an outstanding Roman historical mystery writer...excels at drawing the reader into second-century Roman Britain. Her sympathetic hero will engage mystery fans and readers of the classics alike
Publishers Weekly
A brilliantly realised historical setting dovetails perfectly with a sharp plot in this history-cum-whodunnit
Good Book Guide
Cunningly drawn and the very devil to fathom until the final pages
Coventry Evening Telegraph
A considerable achievement
The Times
This exciting and adventurous historical...will appeal to Stephen Saylor fans
Library Journal
Rowe is very good on the realities of Roman life... and there is a pleasing attention to detail... A deftly woven tale of patriots and intrigue
Historical Novels Review