Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The Germanicus Mosaic (A Libertus Mystery of Roman Britain, book 1)

The Germanicus Mosaic (A Libertus Mystery of Roman Britain, book 1)

A deadly puzzle from the days of the Roman Empire…

Rosemary Rowe introduces Libertus and Marcus Septimus, in The Germanicus Mosaic, the first fantastic mystery thriller of the highly acclaimed Libertus series. The perfect read for fans of Stephen Saylor and Lindsey Davis.

‘Demonstrates Rowe’s pithy command of the Roman sleuth genre… a considerable achievement’ – The Times

It is AD 186, and Britain is the northernmost province of the hugely successful Roman Empire. In Glevum (modern Gloucester), Libertus, a freedman and pavement-maker, lives under the patronage of Marcus Septimus. When a body is found in the furnace room of a nearby villa, and identified as that of Crassus Germanicus, a retired centurion, Marcus asks for Libertus’s help. A slave is missing and the solution to the mystery seems obvious. But Libertus soon discovers that Germanicus has many enemies, and he must use his mosaicist’s skill to put together the pieces of a most deadly puzzle.

What readers are saying about The Germanicus Mosaic:

Has it all: good storyline, interesting characters, historical perspective and a mystery that keeps you guessing all the way through’

‘A very likeable and believable hero and cast of characters and some neat plot twists

‘A great introduction to a new detective, with atmospheric settings and an interesting take of Britain under the Romans’
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items

On Sale: 11th April 2013

Price: £5.49

ISBN-13: 9781472205056

Reviews

Cunningly drawn and the very devil to fathom until the final pages
Coventry Evening Telegraph
Rowe...an outstanding Roman historical mystery writer...excels at drawing the reader into second-century Roman Britain. Her sympathetic hero will engage mystery fans and readers of the classics alike
Publishers Weekly
It's a humdinger of a plot with more twists and turns than a spiral staircase
Northern Echo
A brilliantly realised historical setting dovetails perfectly with a sharp plot in this history-cum-whodunnit
Good Book Guide
Rowe is very good on the realities of Roman life... and there is a pleasing attention to detail... A deftly woven tale of patriots and intrigue
Historical Novels Review
This exciting and adventurous historical...will appeal to Stephen Saylor fans
Library Journal
Praise for the Libertus series: 'Demonstrates Rowe's pity command of the Roman sleuth genre
The Times
Well-researched and eminently readable... Readers can enjoy the plot and soak up facts about Roman life and Language
South Wales Argus
A traditional country-house mystery translated to the Roman world - even featuring the mandatory body in the bibliotheca... There are charming details about innocent life on the fringes of empire
Independent
A considerable achievement
The Times