Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The Ghosts of Glevum (A Libertus Mystery of Roman Britain, book 6)

The Ghosts of Glevum (A Libertus Mystery of Roman Britain, book 6)

Roman Britain is brought vividly to life in this gripping mystery…

An opulent evening banquet turns deadly in The Ghost of Glevum, the sixth historical thriller from Rosemary Rowe’s gripping Libertus series. The perfect read for fans of David Wishart and Lindsey Davis.

‘Rosemary Rowe does paint an incredible picture of life for the really poor in Roman times – Mystery Woman

Despite the opulence of the evening’s banquet, Libertus is keen to return to his wife and a warm bed. But this feast has a finale to put any diner off his dessert – the guest of honour is found dead in the vomitorium. To Libertus’s horror, his patron Marcus Septimus is arrested on suspicion of murder. Then when Libertus is accused of being Marcus’s accomplice, he is forced to go on the run. Hiding in a dark corner of the city, he quickly realises he’s an unwelcome visitor to those who haunt the shadows. Soon Libertus is in danger, and this time there’s no one to help…

What readers are saying about The Ghosts of Glevum:

‘Rowe managed to combine real research with a cracking good tale

‘Found this depiction of the underclass in Romano-British society particularly interesting’

Excellently written
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items

On Sale: 11th April 2013

Price: £5.49

ISBN-13: 9781472205100

Reviews

Rowe is very good on the realities of Roman life... and there is a pleasing attention to detail... A deftly woven tale of patriots and intrigue
Historical Novels Review
This exciting and adventurous historical...will appeal to Stephen Saylor fans
Library Journal
A brilliantly realised historical setting dovetails perfectly with a sharp plot in this history-cum-whodunnit
Good Book Guide
A traditional country-house mystery translated to the Roman world - even featuring the mandatory body in the bibliotheca... There are charming details about innocent life on the fringes of empire
Independent
Rowe...an outstanding Roman historical mystery writer...excels at drawing the reader into second-century Roman Britain. Her sympathetic hero will engage mystery fans and readers of the classics alike
Publishers Weekly
Well-researched and eminently readable... Readers can enjoy the plot and soak up facts about Roman life and Language
South Wales Argus
Cunningly drawn and the very devil to fathom until the final pages
Coventry Evening Telegraph
Praise for the Libertus series: 'Demonstrates Rowe's pity command of the Roman sleuth genre
The Times
A considerable achievement
The Times
It's a humdinger of a plot with more twists and turns than a spiral staircase
Northern Echo