Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The Legatus Mystery (A Libertus Mystery of Roman Britain, book 5)

The Legatus Mystery (A Libertus Mystery of Roman Britain, book 5)

A deadly puzzle from the days of the Roman Empire…

Libertus must uncover the sinister truth after a murdered body goes missing in The Legatus Mystery, the fifth thriller in Rosemary Rowe’s gripping crime series. Perfect for fans of Simon Scarrow and Lindsey Davis.

‘Cunningly drawn and the very devil to fathom until the final pages’ – Coventry Evening Telegraph

The murdered body of a visiting ambassador from Rome is discovered in the temple of the Imperial cult and once again freedman and pavement-maker Libertus is called upon to investigate. Events take a bizarre and chilling turn when the body disappears, and then unearthly wails are heard coming from the temple and mysterious bloodstains start to appear from nowhere. But Libertus is sure there is a more human explanation for the murder and he is to uncover still more unsettling events before the truth is finally revealed…

What readers are saying about The Legatus Mystery:

‘The pace of the series continues to build

‘A cracking mystery laced with fascinating details of Roman life, and believable characters

‘The best Roman series currently around just got better…’
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items

On Sale: 11th April 2013

Price: £5.49

ISBN-13: 9781472205094

Reviews

A brilliantly realised historical setting dovetails perfectly with a sharp plot in this history-cum-whodunnit
Good Book Guide
A considerable achievement
The Times
Well-researched and eminently readable... Readers can enjoy the plot and soak up facts about Roman life and Language
South Wales Argus
Rowe is very good on the realities of Roman life... and there is a pleasing attention to detail... A deftly woven tale of patriots and intrigue
Historical Novels Review
This exciting and adventurous historical...will appeal to Stephen Saylor fans
Library Journal
A traditional country-house mystery translated to the Roman world - even featuring the mandatory body in the bibliotheca... There are charming details about innocent life on the fringes of empire
Independent
It's a humdinger of a plot with more twists and turns than a spiral staircase
Northern Echo
Rowe...an outstanding Roman historical mystery writer...excels at drawing the reader into second-century Roman Britain. Her sympathetic hero will engage mystery fans and readers of the classics alike
Publishers Weekly
Praise for the Libertus series: 'Demonstrates Rowe's pity command of the Roman sleuth genre
The Times
Cunningly drawn and the very devil to fathom until the final pages
Coventry Evening Telegraph