Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Quieter Than Killing (D.I. Marnie Rome 4)

Quieter Than Killing (D.I. Marnie Rome 4)

Sarah Hilary, winner of the Theakstons Crime Novel of the Year, returns with a new DI Marnie Rome novel, QUIETER THAN KILLING. For fans of Val McDermid, Alex Marwood and Claire Mackintosh

‘Hilary is my drop-everything writer; always original, always bang-on psychologically, always gripping. I am a huge fan’ Alex Marwood

‘Tremendous’ Ian Rankin

It’s winter, the nights are dark and freezing, and a series of seemingly random assaults is pulling DI Marnie Rome and DS Noah Jake out onto streets of London. When Marnie’s family home is ransacked, there are signs that the burglary can have only been committed by someone who knows her. Then a child goes missing, yet no-one has reported it. Suddenly, events seem connected, and it’s personal.

Someone out there is playing games. It is time for both Marnie and Noah to face the truth about the creeping, chilling reaches of a troubled upbringing. Keeping quiet can be a means of survival, but the effects can be as terrible as killing.

(P)2017 Headline Publishing Group Limited
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

On Sale: 9th March 2017

Price: £19.99

ISBN-13: 9781472226464

Reviews

Another tense and chilling book by one of my favourite authors. I was up way past my bedtime devouring each page
Tracy Fenton, Founder of THE Book Club and www.compulsivereaders.com
Masterful
Woman & Home
Hilary belts out a corker of a story, all wrapped up in her vivid, effortless prose. If you're not reading this series of London-set police procedurals then you need to start right away
Observer, Thriller of the Month
Sarah Hilary writes beautifully and unflinchingly; a dark, disturbing and thought-provoking chiller of a thriller
Peter James
The most poignant entry in the series so far
Sunday Express, S Magazine
Hilary is my drop-everything writer; always original, always bang-on psychologically, always gripping. I am a huge fan
Alex Marwood
Descriptively chilling, completely addictive and with a set of characters and storylines that just dig deep into your subconscious and stay there. Sarah Hilary, with the Marnie Rome series, is without doubt one of the top UK crime writers working today
Lizlovesbooks
As tense, twisty, tremendous as ever, Sarah Hilary's QUIETER THAN KILLING nails it
Angela Clarke
A compelling read, emotionally intense and intelligent. I love her fierce, flawed characters
Cath Staincliffe
Sarah Hilary's debut, Someone Else's Skin,was widely acclaimed and won lots of awards. Quieter Than Killing, her fourth, is even more impressive, and DI Marnie Rome is up there in the top division of fictional female detectives
The Times
Hilary's writing is as precise and deadly as a fine blade. Quieter Than Killing is by turns terrifying and tender, with a twisty, gripping plot where no good deed goes unpunished. This is a fine addition to a superb series
Jane Casey
Well written, well researched and full of issues that set you thinking, Quieter Than Killing is as impressive as it is gripping
Book Oxygen
Hilary writes with a menacing intensity...[a] dark, atmospheric novel layered with complexities, keeping the reader guessing throughout and its twist will undoubtedly take your breath away. You will finish the book desperate to read more.
Daily Express
It's dark, it's brilliant, and it tightens like a noose. Sarah Hilary is downright dangerous.
Mick Herron