We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

The Schoolteacher of Saint-Michel: a heartrending wartime story of one woman's courage, resistance, sacrifice and love

Buy Now:

Audiobook Downloadable / ISBN-13: 9781472270122

Price: £19.99

The war taught her to fight. The children taught her to hope…

The Schoolteacher of Saint Michel is a heartrending and deeply moving story of love and hope in World War II. From the USA Today bestselling author of The Missing Pieces of Nancy Moon, this exquisitely beautiful novel is perfect for readers of The Postmistress, Lilac Girls and The Girl from Vichy.

My darling girl, I need you to find someone for me . . .’

France, 1942. At the end of the day, the schoolteacher releases her pupils. She checks they have their identity passes, and warns them not to stop until the German guards have let them through the barrier that separates occupied France from Free France. As the little ones fly across the border and into their mothers’ arms, she breathes a sigh of relief. No one is safe now. Not even the children.

Berkshire, present day. A letter left to her by her beloved late grandmother Gigi takes Hannah Stone on a journey deep into the heart of the Dordogne landscape. As she begins to unravel a forgotten history of wartime bravery and sacrifice, she discovers the heartrending secret that binds her grandmother to a village schoolteacher, the remarkable Lucie Laval . . .

A story of friendship, courage and hope, The Schoolteacher of Saint Michel is an unforgettable read.

(P)2021 Headline Publishing Group Ltd